Bones Theory

BOOTH WEEK: Booth and Family

11 Comments

Sorry for the delay on the post! One of those “real life” days!

At the heart of this series and in his life, Booth really wants…family. He’s the original “There’s more than one kind of family” quoter, but it’s been interesting to see how Booth was sort of preaching to himself on that one.  Throughout the series, it’s kind of displayed in different ways: Love, Fatherhood, Responsibility, Brotherhood:

Love:

Before the 100th episode of Bones aired, I participated in a conference call (with GMMR) with David Boreanaz, and I asked him a couple of questions. One was about Death of the Queen Bee, but the other one was this.

“How is Booth going to react to the fact that Sweets and Jared might get married before him? Won’t that bother him? It’s kind of one of his life goals. What do you think?”

David replied,

I don’t know. I mean, Booth is…he is what he is, and after the 100th episode, we’ll see he’s got to make some changes, you know…internally. Which is fine for him. He doesn’t see anything as a loss; he’s very optimistic, always has been. I don’t think one of his main goals is to get married. I think Booth is…he’s pretty simple, blue collar kind of a guy, and he loves…he loves the simple things in life. You know, if he were to find somebody that is a fit for him, and she is also in the same boat, then he’ll possibly entertain those thoughts. But you never know with his character. He’s got a lot of demons that we never really tapped into, and we look forward to diving into a little bit of his past next season as well as trying to figure out his path and how that works with Bones. And we’ll see what happens.

 

I agree with him on most things, but I don’t agree with him on the idea that Booth doesn’t want to get married. I don’t know, maybe we both sort of agree. Maybe Booth doesn’t want to get married necessarily, but I think that we know he’s a one-woman, 30, 40, 50 years kind of man, right? He wants monogamy and commitment and family. I don’t think it’s a stretch to say that. Now, would Booth be willing to be with Brennan and have a baby with her without getting married? I think so. I think when he said he wanted to give them a shot, I think he was open to however it would work (but monogamous, of course).

Booth believes in love. And he believes in fate. And he believes that the moment he first saw Brennan…that he knew they were meant to be together. Amazing. He knew? He says he did, and I believe him. I want to believe him. Booth has a lot of love to give. I think one of the first moments that really displays that is during the season one finale, when he shows up to Brennan’s apartment with food. I mean, can we all call shenanigans that he saw her lights from the road? Even Brennan knows he’s lying. It’s after midnight, and he has food, and…I love it.

What I really love about it is that I think Booth is taking a chance there. You know the way he kind of smiles at Catherine in Predator in the Pool? Yeah, she’s pretty and kind of aggressive, but that’s not the point. It’s also Booth’s confidence and him taking a chance, and I think we saw that in earlier episodes between Booth and Brennan. I don’t completely buy Sweets’ proposal to Dr. Wyatt (though he does agree with it) that Booth has held off on revealing his feelings to Brennan all these years because he is protective of her and her emotions. I think that’s part of it, but to say that Booth has this uber-confidence where she is concerned and has just been waiting Brennan out…I don’t think so. I think he’s been hesitant. I think he’s missed a few moments (when she told him she wanted to believe in love, when she asked him if love was worth it, when she said she feels close to him…etc, etc).

And what I loved about Booth’s confession of feelings in the 100th episode is that he was standing up for himself. Yes, my heart was breaking right alongside of his, right alongside of Brennan’s…right alongside of yours, probably. But I was just so proud of him for laying it out there and then once he had an answer, he said, “Okay…I’ve got to move on and find someone who’s going to love me.” I like that he wasn’t like, “Okay, I’ll be alone the rest of my life and be your partner.” You all know me well enough to know that I don’t mean I was completely happy about it; I just had to really respect him for standing up for himself in the love department.

Fatherhood:

I can imagine Booth, as a teenager or a college student, imagining his future family. I think he probably imagined a wife and children and a dog and happiness. And he just doesn’t have that. Now, I can only remember one time where he told Brennan he planned to get married (Cinderella in the Cardboard), but I do think he still wants that. I think he is also very stubborn about fatherhood, as a reflection of his childhood.  He is going to pro-actively be the best dad he knows how to be. He jokingly tells Hodgins that he proposed to Rebecca when the stick turned blue, and I can totally see that, him wanting to take responsibility. Sometimes I wonder about Rebecca, what she was thinking. Was she selfish not to marry Booth? Don’t get me wrong, I’m really glad he’s not married to her. I don’t think I would have watched a show in which the lead characters had so much chemistry and one was married to someone else. But as happy as I am that Booth isn’t married to Parker’s mother, I still feel bad for him that things just haven’t worked out the way he probably had in mind. I always love his interactions with Parker, and I think that the underlying “something to prove” vibe that Booth has regarding Parker is very in character.

Responsibility:

Booth is actually kind of resistant on the surface toward being responsible for the squints. It’s interesting because as much as he spouts off that Brennan should be better with people, he’s kind of snarky and acerbic toward anyone that’s not Brennan. Right? I like that she kind of soothes his rough edges, even if she doesn’t necessarily know that she does it.

What makes Judas on a Pole such a great episode isn’t just because Booth is really there for Brennan when she needs it. If we take a look back, we can see that it’s actually the episode in which the squint squad really rally around Booth!

He loses his job, and Zack…ZACK!…is the one who makes the team see that they need to keep working the case to get Booth his job back. And at the end of the episode, after Booth tells Brennan there’s more than one kind of family, Zack knocks on the window and invites them both inside the diner. Booth tries to decline, telling Brennan that Zack is her squints. And she says no and she takes his arm and tells him that they are all of them his squints. Yay! So the squint squad really adopted Booth more than he includes them. I think he would still consider them to be “Brennan’s”, though even in Fire in the Ice, Hodgins and Wendell announce, “We’re Booth’s People!” Haha, I think that needs to be made into a t-shirt or something.

Brotherhood:

I want to admit something to you. Whenever I think “little brother” when it comes to Booth, Sweets comes to mind before Jared. Is that crazy? Part of that is because we’ve only seen Jared a couple of times and we’ve seen Sweets a LOT more, but most of it is because that’s kind of how it’s been written. To me, Sweets sort of represents a “do-over” for Booth as far as the role of ‘older brother’ is concerned. I think with Jared, we see that while there is some reconciliation, it might all be water under the bridge. What do you think? It’s not either of their faults necessarily; I think their life experiences have sort of shaped them into those roles, and it’s hard to break free of those. I like that Jared told Booth to ‘Go to Hell’ in Dentist in the Ditch, and I like that Booth relied on Brennan for advice on what to do with Jared and Padme. But Booth has a major blind spot where Jared is concerned, and I don’t know if I see that changing any time soon. In Beaver in the Otter, Jared invites him to come to India as a friend and Booth tells him he’s not his friend, he’s his brother. Jared agrees, and it looks like that’s all set. I think those of us who are older brothers and sisters can take a lesson from Booth’s attitude toward Jared and investigate our own relationships with our younger siblings to see if we are always assuming the worst.

But…I really do think that Sweets and Booth sort of have a brother relationship thing going on. I think Booth doesn’t LIKE it that much sometimes. But it’s there. Sweets looks up to him (as seen like a thousand times, but for example when Booth talks about dating identical twins). And also, Sweets has a really hard time watching Booth not live up to his potential. Right? I wasn’t mad at Sweets after the 100th episode, and I won’t get into why here, but I do think that he sort of challenged Booth not out of a professional courtesy or advisory position, but because he just cares about them both. I think he just once and for all wanted Booth to realize that he had what it takes to make Brennan happy. I’ll always be annoyed with the writers that we never actually SAW the moment Sweets found out that Booth did take a gamble and that Brennan turned him down. Actually, I’m more than annoyed. It’s bull crap, if you ask me. My teeth are clenched and my blood pressure is rising, so, haha, I’ll move on!

Sweets has his own need for family; that’s evident. But there is something in particular about his relationship with Booth. Maybe it’s just because they both work at the FBI; it’s possible. But I also think it’s the writers sort of allowing Booth to be able to pass on advice to someone.

And it totally cracks me up when Booth makes fun of Sweets. Booth and Brennan both, actually. It’s funny and cute, and Sweets kind of likes it too. What is interesting though is that even though Brennan sort of insisted that they include Sweets, Booth is sort of the one who has taken on most of that. We don’t really see any Sweets and Brennan scenes. I also love that Booth thinks Sweets is much better off without Daisy. Yes!

 Probably the most intriguing thing for me in this area of Booth’s life is from Goop on the Girl. Brennan invited Booth to her Christmas dinner, but when they are all there and Cam asks Sweets why he and Daisy are there, Sweets replies that they aren’t there for Jesus, they are there for Agent Booth. So, somewhere in there, either Booth invited them, which means that he considers Sweets family, or Brennan invited them because it was important to Booth, which means that she gets it. I love that.

So, all in all, I think Booth is a family man. It will just take us to the end of the series to see what kind of family he ends up with.

Well, enough from me. What do you think? And hey, hey…tomorrow starts Brennan Week! Yay!

11 thoughts on “BOOTH WEEK: Booth and Family

  1. Hello!!

    First of all, this was so interesting reading! And it’s getting me even more excited for when BONES returns (eight days!!).

    I completely agree with everything you said, especially about Sweets sort of being a ‘younger brother’ to Booth. We can really see that relationship and when Sweets thought Daisy was cheating on him, who did he go to? Booth.

    I also did notice that in “Goop on the Girl,” Sweets did say he and Daisy were there for Booth.

    I think that’s it. Oh! If there were shirts that said “We’re Booth’s People” on it, I would definitely buy that 🙂

  2. As a fellow Boothling I don’t think I really have anything to add to that. It really was perfect.

    Dear Lord, I love Booth so much. It’s kinda sad. 🙂

    Great job!

    PS. Was that enough lube? LOL

  3. I think this is the best thing I’ve read all week =)

    I think I agree with everything you wrote, wouldn’t add anything either. It actually made me see a couple of things a little clearer (like, the little hints here and there that Brennan threw Booth….I hadn’t thought of that!).

    Everyone gives me a hard time with this whole Brennan rejecting Booth in the 100th….*sigh*….I’m sad that that happened, in fact, at that time, I think I was angry, furious and even crying. BUT…..I think you really have to know these characters, really KNOW them, to understand why this went down that way.

    And I admit, I didn’t understand it at that moment, it took some thinking. =)

    Great read!

  4. Let me just throw this out there: I’d marry Booth! That’s all I gotta say.

  5. Ahh Booth, how we love him.

    There’s so much we don’t know about him – like, I want to know what the deal is with his mother?! Is she still alive? It seems unlikely that he’d never have mentioned her if so, there are so many questions!

    I agree with what you said about him not being overly-confident when it comes to Brennan, I actually think he’s got less confident as the series has gone on. For instance, in season 1 ‘Superhero in the Alley’ (12.44) there’s a moment when they’re discussing how authors reveal themselves through their writing – Brennan says her books are complete fiction, and they cut to Booth who has to smother a cheeky smile, like he’s confident that the sexy FBI guy in her books is based on him.

    Even though when people describe the series they almost always use the word ‘cocky’ to describe Booth, we haven’t actually seen much of his cocky nature in recent seasons. I think that’s mainly because these days most of the interaction we see is with Brennan, and since he realised his feelings for her, he’s not as confident with her.

    It kind of breaks my heart to see our ‘kick ass FBI guy with a hard fists and a lion heart’ have his confidence knocked. It was nice to see a glimpse of it back with Catherine, so who knows how much of it we’ll see this season…

    I love cocky, slightly aggressive, kicking-doors-down, manly-weapon-wielding Booth, specially when he’s saving someone or kicking someone’s ass. It’s terribly unoriginal of me, but what can I say, I just dig those ‘knight in shining FBI issue body armour’ alpha male tendencies 🙂

    Awesome blog, thanks so much for writing it!
    @sugar7470

  6. I loved this post Seels – it reminds me of all the aspects of Booth we’ve seen these 5 seasons. At first glance the perfect man, but obviously with flaws and baggage as we follow his course through time. There is so much to learn, and I too hope they actually address the ‘heart’ of Booth, by exploring his fears, his past, and his hopes.

    I too would marry him – 🙂 – although a fictional character he is delicious!

  7. Another relationship I love is Caroline and Booth. I love how Caroline loves Booth, in a non-romantic way of course. But if Sweets is like a little brother, I think Caroline is like a big sister to him.

  8. I think Booth wants to get married, although not necessarily in the traditional sense. He wants to be with someone for the rest of his life–so you can definitely say he’s a man of commitment (like you said…with Brennan :]).

    Your “fatherhood” part reminded me of Booth’s comment on college students that they’re supposed to make mistakes before they actually learn something (I think “grow a brain” was the phrase he used). He really knows what he’s talking about. I’ve always imagined a younger Booth to be rather carefree and kind of the “go-with-the-flow” kind of person. What I really admire, though, is that beneath all that is also a very responsible person. I think he probably picked that up helping Jared as he grew up. I also don’t think Rebecca was selfish for not marrying him. She obviously knew what she wanted. It seemed to be for the best.

    Little brother Sweets and big brother Booth are the cutest!!! When I think about Sweets/Booth moments…I automatically think of “Mary had a little lamb”–with Sweets being the little lamb that followed Booth around. Haha. Brennan and Booth teasing Sweets was probably the funniest moments ever! I love that Sweets tries really hard to be acknowledged as an adult (which he should know full well by now that it is not going to happen). They, however, also have relationship based on respect as well (even if his science is psychology…he knows what he’s doing!).

  9. Booth is definitely all about family, despite the fact that every “family” he’s had up to now has been completely nontraditional.

    I really love everything you said. I definitely think Booth would be willing to give up a wedding if it meant he could have a family with Brennan. I think he would give up the white-picket fence, the house in the ‘burbs, the lawn if it meant he could be with her and have a child with her, so long as she was his forever.

    I love the fact that he’s a great father despite his situation. I love that he feels responsible for “his” people as they’ve grown on him. After all, he even said so in Proof in the Pudding that they were his people. 🙂 I also really like his dynamic with Sweets as the younger brother, and I agree with him having a blind spot with Jared.

    Basically, I agree with everything you said. 🙂

    Thanks so much for putting this out there for us!

  10. I am sifting through your writings, in order to make an evaluation for my thesis and, I am completely amazed at your thorough and documented approach. This blog alone, well, both this and 100 Days… Are so completely insightful that I don’t even know where to begin!!
    So, from a purely non-sociological point of view, I really needed to let you know that your work is inspiring!!

  11. I have to reread this because when I read it the first time, all I saw was that DB calls Brennan “Bones” even when he’s DB. And I think that’s cool.

    The rest is just kindofa blur. *lol*

Leave a Reply

