Bones Theory

BONES Fan Spotlight: Monisse

3 Comments

If you are lucky, you have someone in your life you can go to when you have a question. This week’s fan spotlight is one of those people for me. I call her Monisse, and a lot of you probably do too. Monisse is the one I always run new ideas by; she’s always honest and she’s very, very creative. She’s the one who really encouraged me to start the 100DaysofBones (without which, you probably wouldn’t be reading this right now!), among many other things. She also has the best insights into Brennan and her character. I love talking about episodes and theories with Monisse. But, it’s not time for that. It’s time for you to get to know her! So without further ado…

 

Here’s Monisse…

 

Name:

Cláudia

 ~~~~~~~~~~

The name BONES fans might know you as:

@Monisse

  ~~~~~~~~~~

General location

Portugal

  ~~~~~~~~~~

If you were to hit ‘random’ on your iPod or iPhone or other MP3 player (or CD, or record player or whatever), what would be the most embarrassing song that might pop up on shuffle?

I don’t really know, I don’t find any of my 20+ Gb of music embarrassing, that’s why I listen to them. The label of embarrassing is given by other people about ones’ possessions.

  ~~~~~~~~~~

What is the last book you read? Or the BEST book you’ve read?

Last book: Cybele’s Secret by Juliet Marillier. Best book: I love all my books, can’t decide which one is the best.

  ~~~~~~~~~~

Favorite cartoon ever?

Cookie monster (not exactly a cartoon but…). I’m actually dressed in a shirt that has him in the front.

  ~~~~~~~~~~

Besides food, rent, bills, taxes, etc, what’s the one (legal, ha) thing you KNOW you spend way too much money on, but love it anyway?

Books , dvds and clothes.

  ~~~~~~~~~~

What is the first episode of Bones you ever saw, and why? What made you decide to watch more?

First episode was the Pilot, and I watched it in Fox Pt, it aired about a year later than USA. At first it was by the pure joy of seeing fresh and entertaining science on tv done in a very plausible way, with plausible characters. Then the more I watched it, the more I felt in love with not only the procedural part but also with the bonus of “life” against the death theme in the show. The life I’m talking about is the interactions between the characters, how they make errors, learn lessons and grow up to become better people. The bonus is that we have such an uncharacteristic relationship between the two main characters, the chemistry it involves, just makes this show much more pleasing to me, and makes it my favorite show of all time.

  ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Which character on BONES do you identify most with and why?

I relate to Brennan because like me she’s a scientist with a wide open mind for the scientific world but is a little blind when it comes to what’s outside of it.

  ~~~~~~~~~~ 

What does BONES mean to you?

Bones to me is the perfect combination between science and the mundane world, between brain and heart. To me it came out from all the existing science based tv shows existing at the time it premiered, it was like a fresh new view of science that had humor with touches of macabre, sadness with touches of personal improvement. For the first time in my life I saw a little bit of myself in that show, particularly in Brennan. I felt that I was finally seeing a show that interested the intellectual part of my brain as well as the emotional one. I started watching it as a freshman in college in the applied chemistry major and it has lasted my entire study journey (and it’s still going on). It was the only show that helped keeping my sanity in the long 4 years of hard study; it was my procrastination drug of choice when the light at the end of the Uni corridor seemed very blurred.  

Also, this show opened me to the possibility of knowing a wide range of different people with the same taste. Because of BONES I met the most amazing friend I could ever ask for.

  ~~~~~~~~~~

What are your top five favorite BONES episodes? Or Top five moments and WHY?

Pilot – For the reasons I stated above.

Two Bodies in the Lab – It’s like I said for the 5th anniversary post, one of my favorite moments. Not only it is the first time we see each other coming out of their comfort zone to reach for the other, but it’s also when they realize something very special is happening between the two. I’m referring to the fact that even though Booth has a hero syndrome and he would put is life in danger to save another person, we see in that scene that it’s quite different when it comes to Brennan, because he got out of the hospital, injured as it is, to save her. At the same time, this is the very first moment that really hits Brennan that Booth would do anything, including putting his life in danger (and kill another) for her. In that moment she does something that we’ve come to see it’s truly uncomfortable for her (in relation to other people), she reaches out and holds him like her life depended on him (and a few seconds back it really did). For me, this is the first moment of a series of other moments where they do whatever they can to save, comfort and love the other in that real special way that they have.   

A Night at the Bones Museum – The Egyptian theme drove me wild as well as the perfect moments between B&B, how errors were made and lessons were learned in that episode.

The Proof in the Pudding – I love this one for the rapid pace, the thrilling excitement of the situation the characters were put in, it kept me at the edge of my seat the whole time.

The Parts in the Sum of the Whole – The second episode of BONES to ever make me cry. Looking back into their first case was a very interesting concept and to discover how some of our (fans) previous conceptions were a little different from the reality. To actually know what made these characters react as they did in the pilot put the rest of the 5 seasons into perspective.

  ~~~~~~~~~~

Have you ever thought about not watching BONES anymore? If so, why did you stick around?

Never. I’ve learned to accept the paths that this tv show takes and enjoy the ride.

  ~~~~~~~~~~

What’s your ideal way to watch a new episode of BONES?

Curled in my bed/sofa with my boyfriend. I kind of turned him into a BONES fan (like he had a choice… :P)

  ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Describe one “BONES in real life” moment you have had.

My real life BONES moment was probably the happiest of my life. When I graduated from the Applied Chemistry major I had the crazy idea of contacting the cast. Since this show had been a major support in my studies and the fact that here in Portugal we have the graduation tradition of giving ribbons for friends and family to sign and wish us luck in our life, I decided to send a ribbon to the cast of BONES with a simple letter explaining my love for the show and how the tradition worked. I never expected to have a reply as soon as I did (or even have one), but one day I came home and there was a big package in my study table entitled “Bones” and I couldn’t believe my eyes. My heart started to beat faster, my face was red with excitement. I hadn’t even opened it yet and I just wanted to cry with happiness. Inside there was an evidence bag used in the show which contained my blue ribbon signed by all the cast, wishing me luck and congratulating me on my accomplishment. There was also a small bones card saying “good luck” and a promotional picture of Emily signed by her and saying “You’re the best!”. It certainly was the happiest moment of my life. At the day of graduation I proudly had that ribbon in my ribbon folder and all my friends were in a mixture of happiness for me and disbelief that I actually had it. As for the rest of the gifts, I have them on my wall, it gives me happiness and strength to look at them and to know that I will forever keep a personal and special gift from my favorite show.

  ~~~~~~~~~~

Which guest-star would you like to see back on BONES and why?

Cyndi Lauper. She was magnificent as Angela’s psychic. Also Zooey Deschanel to play Brennan’s cousin, because there’s a lot of family potential she can bring to Brennan’s character. 

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Describe an instance in BONES that made you cry, either from anger, laughter or sadness. 

I cried at the end of The Plain in the Prodigy because of the rendition of Moonlight Sonata, and at the end of The Parts in the Sum of the Whole. The first from sadness and the second from sadness and anger.

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Favorite song used in a BONES episode (and why):

Besides the piano playing of Moonlight Sonata, I loved Howie Day – You and I Collide (it will always be reflective of how it all begun for the main characters and also for one of my favorite moments of all, Brennan assembling a skull).

Pick one meaningful quote (or small section of dialogue) from BONES and tell us what you think it means.

Brennan: You have faith that you will retain your faith? Why?
Booth: Because, Bones. The sun will come up and tomorrow is a new day.
Brennan: I know that feeling.
Booth: Really?
Brennan: Mm-hmm.
Booth: You know what it feels like to get your faith back?
Brennan: When I see effects and I am unable to discern a cause, my faith in reason and consequences is shaken.

Brennan: Two plus two equals four. I put sugar in my coffee and it tastes sweet. The sun comes up because the world turns. These things are beautiful to me. There are mysteries I will never understand, but everywhere I look I see proof that for every effect there is a corresponding cause. Even if I can’t see it. I find that reassuring.

This dialogue means a lot to me, I share Brennan’s view as well as Booth’s simpler interpretation. But not only does this reflect a lot of myself, it’s also reflective of their relationship, they have faith in different things and yet they have faith in each other.

Okay, last question…What is one other TV show you’re watching right now and would recommend to others?

 

I would recommend Glee just for the music.

Ladies, Gentlemen & Squints, say hello to Monisse!

 

Peace, Love & Bones,

~S

3 thoughts on “BONES Fan Spotlight: Monisse

  1. Hello Monisse! I just wanted to tell you that I think your “Bones in real life” story is awesome. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing some of your story.

  2. Super fun about the Bones care package!

    “procrastination drug of choice ” — haha! I can completely relate to that right now!

  3. Thanks for the insight on Monisse

    Loved your real moment, I would have been psyched to have received something as cool as the package you did.

Leave a Reply

