Bones Theory

BONES Fan Spotlight: Jackie

3 Comments

Hey BONES darlings! I don’t know about you, but every once in awhile, I blink and think… “I talk to people online.” Maybe it’s because I’m kind of old (How old, you ask? Well…it’s not MY spotlight, haha), and if someone had told me when I was younger that I would spend time in chat rooms talking about things like diatomaceous earth and Maluku Islands, I would have laughed. But…what can I say? That IS my life sometimes. And like I’ve said before, I’ve made some incredible friends through BONES. But every once in awhile, it seems like there is just ‘instant friendship’, you know? And today’s spotlight, Jackie…she’s like that for me. Jackie is very sweet and awesome at analyzing Booth and Brennan’s relationship. She’s not afraid to speak her mind, but she always does it with love for the show and respect for its fans. Also…she’s the mother to two gorgeous boys.

But don’t let me do all the talking. Let’s hear what Jackie has to say about herself!

The name BONES fans might know you as?

Corgipaz

~~~~~~~~~~ 

General location:

Dallas, TX

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

If you were to hit ‘random’ on your iPod, what would be the most embarrassing song that might pop up on shuffle?

Barry Manilow’s “Copacabana” I know … I know… but it sure puts a smile on my face when I listen to it.

~~~~~~~~~~  

What is one other TV show you’re watching right now and would recommend to others?

White Collar or Psych

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

What is one thing even your best BONES pals might not know about you?

I married my high school sweetheart. We were together 9 years before we got married and have been married for 9 years for a total of 18 years!

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

What is the first episode of Bones you ever saw, and why? What made you decide to watch more?

I have watched since the pilot episode because we really enjoyed CSI and such. We thought this would be an interesting view on solving murders by looking at the bones. From the pilot, I was hooked. I thought Booth and Brennan oozed chemistry and had such an intense connection. I continued to watch their relationship grow and see who would make the first move. For me, it has ALWAYS been about them, the cases were always second.

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Which character on BONES do you identify most with and why?

I feel that I identify more with Angela in the sense that she is a heart person with an artist’s view. She knows when to use humor or sensitivity to get her point across to her friends. She is the ultimate best friend.

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

What does BONES mean to you?

For season 1, it was a just a show I would not miss on TV. I made sure it was recorded in case we didn’t see it live.  After season 2 started, I got more invested with the lives of these characters. I know this sounds silly, but, somewhere along the way, these characters weren’t just on TV, they were my friends. If their feelings got hurt, then mine in turn were hurt. Then I wasn’t content just watching week to week; I wanted to know more. I would stalk E! Online to get more scoop about my favorite “non-couple”.  I would read Bones forums and recaps just to get more information and other viewers’ take on the episode. To me, they have to get together; they are two damaged people who could heal one another just by being with each other.  I am watching a love story, one that I can’t turn away from. I have to see their journey to love, happiness and healing through. I want them as happy as I am.

My life had changed drastically during this time, as I am now the mother of two boys (almost 3 years old and almost 3 months old). Watching Bones is my getaway to another world where my friends are happy and struggling to find themselves. I just hope they do find their happy ending and we get to see it completely.

During these 6 seasons, I have recorded the season, watching the episodes over and over to see if I missed anything while trying to get the “deep meaning”.  We also have “friends” at GMMR that feel the way we do and care about the show. They ask the questions we want to know and not just an obvious question that has been asked a million times. We get to have actual dialogue with the show’s creator on Twitter and he replies to fans! Plus, other cast and crew do the same.  This, to me, is mind blowing. This makes the show more real to me because it feels like it is OUR show. We may not always agree with the direction or what happens but we know that the show runners read/listen to our thoughts and that is amazing in itself.

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Have you ever thought about not watching BONES anymore? If so, why did you stick around?

No, that was and has never been an option.

~~~~~~~~~~  

What’s your ideal way to watch a new episode of BONES? 

Away from my two boys and husband so I can just sit and watch. Then go online to read recaps to see if anyone saw something that I didn’t.

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Which guest-star would you like to see back on BONES and why? 

I want to see Cyndi Lauper back so she can smack these two true lovebirds upside the head already.

~~~~~~~~~~  

Pick one meaningful quote (or small section of dialogue) from BONES and tell us what you think it means.

“Everything happens eventually, Bones, you’ve just gotta be ready for it”. This is the basic underlying theme with BONES. It is the most upfront and in your face game plan that the writers have given the audience for Booth and Brennan. I know it seems like we are waiting forever but they have a plan, and I want to see the whole thing from start to finish because it will be that much sweeter in the end.

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

If you could guest-star on only ONE episode of BONES, what would that look like?  

I would like to be a mom on the bench sitting next to Booth as he watches Parker and Bones.  I want to tell Booth that he has such a lovely family. He’ll reply with, “Yes, yes I do” without bothering to clarify that they are not together.

~~~~~~~~~~  

Have you ever read any of the Temperance Brennan novels by Kathy Reichs?

Yes I have

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Okay, two more…just for fun:

Besides food, rent, bills, taxes, etc, what’s the one (legal, ha) thing you KNOW you spend way too much money on, but love it anyway? 

Coach purses…. Yeah it is an addiction!

 ~~~~~~~~~~ 

Scenario: Hart Hanson asks you to pitch him an idea for an episode in 250 (or so) words or less. Describe the case, the victim, any character developments or actions and the end closing scene and anything else you want to add!

A dead body is found at Disney World in Epcot during the May Flower festival. Booth and Parker are on vacation when he is called in to help. Since the body was found in the topiary section at the front of Epcot, they call in Bones. The victim is a male, 18-25, who was a cast member for the Mission Space ride. The case would then send them throughout the park and meeting with various Disney cast members. It would end up that it was a love triangle but that it was an accident. The victim died from a fall during the Soarin’ ride when he wanted to talk to his ex-girlfriend but he saw her kissing the new boyfriend. The couple got scared and buried him since the ex-girlfriend worked in the horticulture department.

The character developments would include seeing Booth with his son on vacation and moving the B&B romantic relationship forward. Ending scene? All 3 of them watching the fireworks with Booth telling Parker that “dreams really do come true” while looking at Bones without her knowing.

~~~~~~~~~~

Yeah…I’d watch that!

Ladies, Gentlemen & Squints, say hello to Jackie!

As always,

Peace, Love & Bones,

~S

 

3 thoughts on “BONES Fan Spotlight: Jackie

  1. Hi Jackie!
    I lived in Austin for 2 years and LOVED it. I used to think I had romanticized our time there, but then we took a vacation back there about 2-1/2 years ago and fell in love with it all over again. If almost all of our family weren’t still up “here” in MN, I would totally have us move back.

    You are totally right that the Twitter activity of HH et al does make it feel like we own shares in the show. 🙂 It is pretty cool.

  2. Hello, Jackie! It’s nice to meet you.

    Sitting here wishing I had some fairy dust to sprinkle on your Bones cameo role – wonderful thoughts like that need to be rewarded by becoming canon!

    You sound happy, with your high school sweetheart, your two little boys, your Bones obsession, and … how many of those Coach purses!? lol! (Coach purse was my ‘learn something new everyday’ for today. They’re gorgeous.) Be seeing ya ’round. *waves*

    Thanks for the introduction, Sarah, darling. 😉

  3. Hello Jackie,

    I’ve read some of your posts here and on twitter – you have the same view of the B&B relationship that I do, so I usually agree with you. Thus I enjoy your thoughts and hope we all get our happy ending!

Leave a Reply

