Bones Theory

Shipper Debate & Final Vote

10 Comments

Welcome one and all to the official debate featuring the candidates for Biggest B&B Shipper. As you know, November 2nd is election day, and it’s now time for Dr. Lance Sweets and Forensic Anthropologist Angela Montenegro to try once and for all to earn your vote! There is much to discuss, so let’s get to it. Once again, Ms. Caroline Julian is moderating this debate. Ms. Julian…you’re live.

 Thank you very much. Good evening ladies and gentlemen. Near me stand two people who are looking for your vote. But you are informed citizens, and you’re not about to be swayed by anything but what you consider the truth. What kind of truth, you might ask? The same kind of truth that Agent Booth and Dr. Brennan hold dear. The truth of facts and the truth of the heart. So it’s up to Dr. Sweets here and Ms. Montenegro to prove to you that they are capable of the honorable title of official B&B shipper. Dr. Sweets, are you prepared for this debate?

Yes, Ms. Julian. I am.

I am very glad to hear it. Ms. Montenegro, are you prepared for this debate?

I am, Ms. Julian. I certainly am.

One ‘I am’ will do, Ms Montenegro. And since you are both ready, let’s get started. The first question comes from DB Crazy, and it’s for both of you. Dr. Sweets, we’ll begin with you… “What do you see as your biggest accomplishment and biggest failure at getting Brennan and Booth together?”

 Wow, that’s like…that’s a pretty big question. Starting us out with the tough ones, hmmm?……………… Okay, yeah, I guess we are. Um, well, I’d say my biggest failure is maybe in not trusting them enough to do it on their own. I’m not talking about encouraging Booth to take a gamble; I still stand by that. Maybe it wasn’t my best moment, but it certainly wasn’t my worst. But my biggest failure was probably specifically when I withheld information from Dr. Brennan about Booth’s undercover work. I do regret it. And yes…before you ask, I do know that Agent Booth is probably listening in and will probably punch me later. And if I survive that, well, that will be my biggest accomplishment. Ha! No, I’m kidding of course. My biggest accomplishment? While I can’t give specific details as it would betray doctor/patient confidentiality, I feel safe in saying that without question, Agent Booth and Dr. Brennan are immeasurably closer to one another and closer to complete honesty with one another because of the time they have spent with me in my office or while working cases together.

Ms. Montenegro, your response to the same question?

I love this. Hmmm…okay, biggest failure? I’m actually gonna go with the opposite of what Sweets said. He thinks he didn’t trust Brennan and Booth enough to do it on their own, but I kinda think that maybe I should have done more. Yeah, their journey has been amazing, but seriously, there have been about a hundred times I should have locked them in a closet and hid the key. One of these days, you guys…one of these days. I’m serious. But, yeah, okay…my biggest accomplishment? Getting rid of Tessa was pretty good, and getting B&B stuck at the altar is something I’m particularly proud of. I don’t want to forget convincing Brennan to write juicy love scenes about Andy Lister…yeah, you know it! But I’d have to say that introducing them to my psychic, Avalon Harmonia, was my best move. Yep, that’s it.

Thank you very much, the both of you. Our next question comes from Stephanie. The first one is for you, Angela: If Booth and Brennan’s relationship were a face you were reconstructing, what would it look like and why?

Oooh, good question, Stephanie! Happy. The face would be happy. So amazingly, deliriously happy.  I know that sometimes there’s this idea that they belong together because of how much pain each one has faced and how they understand that with one another. But underneath all of that are the truest smiles I’ve ever seen. You should see Brennan’s face when she’s working and she hears Booth whistle as he enters the lab. And you should see Booth’s face when he watches Brennan walk away. They’re happy together. Very, very happy.

And Dr. Sweets, your question from Stephanie follows the same line: How would you describe Booth & Brennan’s relationship in psychological terms? You wrote an entire book about it, so spill the beans already!

Ah, yes, my book. Well, as you know it’s called, “Bones, The Heart of the Matter”, and that’s how I would describe it. With psychology, it’s always more than it seems, and it’s the same with the relationship between Brennan and Booth. On the surface, it’s intriguing and any person who sees it for the first time wants to learn more, wants to get to the root of it all, or…the heart of the matter, as I’ve said. Some might say their co-dependency with one another is unhealthy, but I believe that the opposite is true. While it’s not perfect, they have one of the healthiest, most fulfilling relationships I’ve ever seen. Frankly, I’m jealous of it.

Thank you both very much for that answer. Our next question comes from Sleepless, and it’s for both of you. Dr. Sweets, we’ll start with you: If you’re elected Shipper, what proactive measures would you take to ensure that Booth and Brennan don’t ‘miss their moment’?

It’s important to keep them communicating and honest with themselves. They aren’t always completely honest with one another, but what’s amazing is that it’s almost like the other one can tell when that’s happening. And for whatever reason, love, affection, protection…or just self-preservation, it’s not always the same, they let it slide. But when one on one with them, it’s crucial that they are completely honest. And when they are, and they keep talking with one another, then it’s inevitable that the timing will be right and they’ll be together. Really together.

Ms. Montenegro, your reply?

Hmmm…remember that locked closet idea I had? Ha, I’m kidding. Though I’m not above doing it, you all know that. I guess in some ways I agree with Sweets. We’ve got to keep them honest. And I think more and more, we’ve got to call them out on stuff. When they say that they don’t love one another, we’ve got to call it for the crap it is. And I think it’s important to let them know that they haven’t missed their moment yet. Maybe they feel like they have, I’m not sure. But we know they haven’t. We’ve just got to make sure they know that there’s still hope.

Thank you both very much. Our next question comes from Monica, who wants to know: How will you ensure that Dr. Brennan comes to terms with her feelings for Agent Booth? Angela, we’ll start with you.

This one is tricky, as you can imagine, as Bren tends to purposefully avoid discussions on her feelings for Agent Booth. My plan? You see this right here? Yep, that’s right; that’s a teeny little baby bump. I just know that Brennan didn’t tell me everything about the ‘shared experience’ she had with Booth when he was in his coma. I know…okay, okay, I guess I just really hope that…

No, you know what? I know. I know that Brennan wants a baby. With Booth. And yeah, I know this is my child I’m talking about, but I’d like to think that if this baby is anything like Hodgins and me, well, then it will want Booth and Brennan together as much as we do. So I’m going to include her in everything about this pregnancy and a ton of baby talk until she can’t stand it any longer and she admits, once and for all, that she wants Booth, that she wants a life with him and that she wants to have his baby.

Okay then. Dr. Sweets? Your reply?

Um, yes, well…I’m not pregnant, so I can’t exactly agree with Angela there, but I think her reasoning is actually fairly sound. While she plans to use another human life, in her case, her unborn child, as incentive toward Dr. Brennan, I’ll do the same with Agent Booth. Now, I know, I know…it’s pretty much impossible to pit them against each other. That’s not what I’m saying. I’m just saying that I’m going to talk to Dr. Brennan about Agent Booth until she admits her feelings for him. Until she admits that how she feels for him is a lot more than just professional partnership.It’s my opinion that once she begins to talk about it, that Agent Booth will follow closely. Dr. Wyatt and I are fully prepared and we often work with them together; it’s easy for us to see what is happening. You can count on me.

Thank you Dr. Sweets and Ms. Montenegro. Our next question comes from Sharon, and it’s for Dr. Sweets. What were your thoughts on the B&B dynamic when they sat on your ‘zone-of-truth’ couch during your first session? And how do you see it now?

Ah, the zone of truth; that was a good one. It’s still a good one actually. I should use that again. Well, okay, yeah, I’ll use it on myself. “Truth zone moment”-I was intimidated by them, by their dynamic. I was confident that I could help them stay together as partners, and I was successful for many years. Because they are not quite as strong of professional partners right now is actually good for them.

I know, I know…it seems crazy. But it’s true. Remember when Agent Booth told me he wished that one day I would understand what a real partnership is? I didn’t have to look very far that day. Dr. Brennan had already defended him very passionately and Agent Booth grew in incredible confidence. In that moment, I knew everything I needed to know about them. And don’t even get me started about coffee. All of you voters know exactly what I’m talking about. I don’t want to be cocky about it or anything, but…you’re welcome.

Alright, I’ll assume that the voters do actually know what you are talking about, and I’ll ask Angela her question from Sharon. It’s this:  Did you know right from the first time you saw these two together that they were meant to be? And was there a difference in your thoughts on their relationship one year later when they started working together again?

Thank you Sharon for bringing this up. B&B Shipper since 2005 IS the platform that Hodgins and I are committed to. And I know Dr. Brennan is going to kill me, but…

… that just about says it all, doesn’t it? Remember when I told Brennan that Booth was cute after we’d all met with him in Ms. Julian’s office? Remember how she replied? Well, I can honestly say I’d never really heard her talk like that before. Usually if I brought up how cute someone was, she’d come back with some sort of reason why he wasn’t. Or she’d say, “Yes, but his ‘blank’ is too ‘blank’ which most likely would lead to a ‘blank blank’, if you know what I mean. Ha. But not with Booth. She was hooked, for sure. And that’s when I knew on her end. And of course, that is when I began my plan to get them together once and for all. He was the best, in her opinion, whether she’d admitted it to herself or not, and I was going to help her get the best, whether she admitted that or not.

Fast forward a year, and I’m surprised to see him at the airport where I’m picking her up from Guatemala. Up until that point, I’d been committed to Brennan, but when he flashed his badge all official like and then, when I didn’t buy that, he flashed me a fifty, hailed me a cab and said, “I need Bones, so chop chop, see you later,” well, then I knew he was just as hooked as she was, and everything changed. It became all about getting them to both see.

Thank you very much. Ms. Montenegro, our next question is for you, and it’s from Nicole, who asks: You’ve been there since the beginning. You’ve seen the looks in both Brennan and Booth’s eyes. You’re Brennan’s best friend. What made you think that the sexy scientist and sexy FBI agent could actually end up together?

You’re exactly right with this. Because what I’ve described so far is just the beginning. But it takes more than that for them to really end up together and stay that way. Both Sweets and I ARE committed to that. Neither of us is looking for Booth and Brennan to hook up just to get the UST out of the way. We’re both wanting them to have a lifelong, fulfilling relationship of love. And yeah, they’re sexy too; you’re right about that! But what makes me think it could happen? And what makes me qualified to see that happen? This. When they are together, they are the real…them. It’s impossible to explain fully, and I know Bren will kill me that I’m repeating this, but she once told me that she and Booth talked about soul mates and that she really liked talking about it with him. She said he made her laugh and he was there, and as she was describing it, all I could think was, they both want it. They both really want it. In the end, if I want it for them, is that going to change their minds? I don’t think so. If Sweets needs for them to be together for his own self worth, does that make them do it? I don’t know. But that doesn’t matter, because…they want it. They WANT to be together. That’s why they will end up together. They just have to figure out how. That’s where I come in.

And now from Nicole, for you Dr. Sweets: You came in late to the game but you’ve had the opportunity to see these two at their best and worst and most vulnerable. You even wrote a book about their relationship. You are strictly theirs. What makes you think that Dr. Brennan and Agent Booth could make it work?

Thank you Nicole for mentioning that I’m “Theirs”. It’s really an honor; it absolutely is. I agree with Ms. Montenegro that deep down, both Booth and Brennan want to be with one another. Of course, I disagree that she’s the one who can help make that happen, and I’d contend that once again you’re exactly right. I have seen them at their best, their worst and their most vulnerable. Angela mentioned before that if she were to describe them artistically, she’d say happy, and I totally buy that. She also said that we shouldn’t consider the fact that they are attracted to one another because of the pain they’ve felt, and on that, I completely disagree. I think you all will too. There are other people who make Agent Booth laugh. Other women in fact. There are other men who make Dr. Brennan laugh. But I’ve never seen either of them care for anyone the way they care for each other. Ever. I’m not just talking about in my professional work. I’m talking about in my life on this earth, I have never, ever seen any two people care, literally care, for one another as much as they do. And at the end of the day, we each want someone who knows the worst of us and still cares. That’s why I’ll never give up on them. I promise you that.

Thank you both very much. Our next question is from Aly, and it’s for both of you. Dr. Sweets, we’ll start with you: What has to happen to get these two to see what’s right in front of them?

Aly, good question. I’m going to go out on a limb and say that they already do see what’s right in front of them, but they are just scared to do anything about it. Ironically, they are both in a perpetual pain in order to avoid future pain. And I’m afraid to say it, but I think maybe more emotional pain may be in their future unless they wake up and really take action. And here’s another thing; they both swear they would give their lives for one another. I believe that is true. What I’m concerned about is that each of them seems to sort of be doing that…giving his or her life up…not in death, but in just the reality of life without the other person. I’m not sure what’s worse, to be honest. Until one of them tries again, they may be stuck in this perpetual sacrificial standstill.

Ms. Montenegro, your reply to the same question?

Well, I hate to be as dramatic as all of that, but Sweets is absolutely right. But while he’s doing that, I’ll be working hard, as I’ve always done, to get every obstacle out of the way. How? Oh, I have my ways. But one thing is clear; neither Booth nor Brennan is a cheater. Even if it seems like getting together would be so easy, they won’t take the easy route. I’m not just talking about cheating in relationships, I’m talking about cheating…in every area of life. In their work, in everything they do…they don’t cheat. So in order for them to really see what’s in front of them, everything that makes it seem wrong will have to be cleared out of the way. I’m rolling up my sleeves and getting to work on that!

Our final voter submitted question comes from Owl, who asks, : You both have recently taken serious relationship steps of your own — do you believe these recent changes have affected/will affect Booth and Brennan or your “shipper-ness”?  Angela, we’ll start with you.

Yes, it’s true. I am recently married, and loving it. And yeah, I’d say it affects my ability as shipper, and in a really good way. For one thing, I thought I already knew how big of a shipper Hodgins is, but you should see him sometimes, you guys. When we get home from work, all he wants to talk about is the look he saw between Booth and Brennan. Come on, Hodgins…it’s true, and you know it. Sometimes, when you’re the Shipper-in-Chief, it’s important to know that what you’re working for is really what people want. Sure, I could want B&B together, but if no one else really does, then what good is the work I do? But knowing that my own husband feels as strongly as I do has been really invigorating toward my desire to see Booth and Brennan live together in love, as Hodgins and I do. Brennan and I once discussed that idea of whether or not we belong with someone. She knows how I feel about that, and yet, she’s also incredibly happy for me to be married with Hodgins. I want that same happiness for Brennan.

Thank you. Dr. Sweets?

Well, this is kind of personal, but sure, I’ll share it with you all, as I think that’s what you really want from me as your Shipper. You all know that no matter how confident I am, things aren’t exactly working out for me in the relationship department. Does that make me LESS qualified to ship B&B? No, it’s the contrary. If anything, I’m ALL THE MORE committed to seeing Booth and Brennan together and happy. Together and happy. I…it’s not easy for me to explain how much that would mean to me. I don’t want to be alone; no one wants to be alone. I don’t want Booth or Brennan to be alone. But more than that, I want them to not be alone…together.

Thank you both for your responses. It’s now time for your closing statements. Dr. Sweets, we’ll begin with you. Please proceed.

Thank you, Ms. Julian, and thank you to each one voting. It’s an honor to stand here. All my life, I’ve been at the top of my class, and for those of you who have been there too, you know it’s not always easy. Teachers admire your work, but your fellow students…they don’t like that you might be smarter than them. But…in this case, being here, standing in front of you as the one you want to represent you as Shipper-In-Chief, well, it’s an absolute honor. I’ve never been prouder of anything else in my life. Does that seem too dramatic? I don’t mean it to. And here’s why. All of my knowledge, every book I’ve read, every book I’ll write…those are just words. People are what matter. And the people you care about are the same people I care about. Booth and Brennan. If I had to give up my job to see them together…well, I think I’d actually do it. Heck, I can play the piano for a living, I guess. But seriously…I’m your man. I’m the one you want to vote for. I’m invested in this. I want the best for them. I won’t let you down. You have my word on that. And…

…well, I wasn’t going to mention this. But, now I feel I must. Everything you’ve heard about the fact that Booth and Brennan are my family…that’s true. Maybe they don’t want that, maybe they don’t want to see it that way, but the truth of the matter is that I really don’t have anyone else who looks out for me the way they do. It’s the love…and yeah, I call it the love that they’ve shown me since I’ve known them that makes me want to give back to them twice as much as they’ve given to me. I don’t…I don’t even think they realize how amazing they are and that what they have is once and a lifetime. I don’t know if I’ll ever have that, but I’ll work hard to ensure they do. Thank you.

Thank you, Dr. Sweets. Ms. Montenegro, your thoughts?

Thank you, Ms. Julian, and thank you voters as well. As Sweets said, it really is an honor to be here. You work for something for years and you think…it’s never going to happen, and then all of a sudden, there are all these people beside you, behind you, saying, “Yeah, we get it. You’re our girl. We need your help. We want you to lead us,” and that’s awesome. You guys are all awesome. I’ll let you draw your own conclusions about what Sweets has said and I’ll only comment on my own feelings in the matter. I love Booth and I love Brennan, and together, they are going to be amazing. This has been clear to me since day one. I’ve been working on this since day one. And I will work on it until it’s completed, and Booth and Brennan are successfully together. And…even if I don’t win your vote…I’ll still be working on it. That’s how much I want this. It is going to happen. And I’m going to be a part of it. A big part of it. I encourage you to vote for me, for experience, for confidence, for friendship, for all of the things that have been said about me. I promise you, I will not fail. I understand Brennan; I understand Booth. I understand love and relationships and how to make them work with someone you work with. I’ll be there for them, to help them, to see them succeed. Just like I know you will be. We’re all in this together. Thank you.

Thank you Dr. Sweets and Ms. Montenegro, and thank you Ms. Julian for your fine moderating. But now it’s up to you, voters. It’s time for you to make your final vote. Polls will be open until midnight EST.

10 thoughts on “Shipper Debate & Final Vote

  1. Let the best man (or woman) win!

  2. whoa, this is excellent, guys. and, as with any good debate, i completely had my mind changed. i’ll be watching cnn for the results!

  3. Wow this is such a tough decision! I’ve been debating till the very end and I’m very curious to see who’ll win!

  4. Woohooo! This is exciting! I’ll be thinking about this for a while !

    Thanks for asking my question! 😀

  5. Is it bad it took me half a second to decide who to vote for?! LOL.

    Only one choice for me………

  6. Erin, yep – changed my mind, too. And I didn’t dither at all, just went clickey,

  7. I voted! 2010!!!!

  8. I missed election day here (although I went to my local polls!) – but wanted to say how awesome this post and topic is!!

  9. In the second picture above with Brennan, Angela, Hodgins and Zack, does anyone notice that Brennan’s shirt is not buttoned correctly?
    Just noticed it.

  10. Yeah, because she was hung over from Booth getting her drunk to fire her

Leave a Reply

