Bones Theory

Morning After Q: Hodgins-Happier Than Most?

10 Comments

Good morning!

I hope everyone is having a good Friday so far. Here’s a question that’s been turning over in my mind since the season six premiere, and last night’s ep solidified it for me.

Does Hodgins seem happier than most new husbands/fathers-to-be?

And if so, then why do you think he is happier than most? For a man who seems to have everything (as we have sort of concluded this week), what is it about a baby that is just putting him over the moon? And do you feel like his moment (of a big announcement) was ruined, or did you like the way it played out? Is Hodgins an orphan, do you think? I can’t remember him mentioning any living parents, so correct me if I’m wrong.

Okay, enough from me; it’s your turn to answer. Let me know what you think!

Peace, Love & Bones

~S

PS…here’s the link to my GMMR review of The Babe in the Bar, if you are so inclined!

10 thoughts on “Morning After Q: Hodgins-Happier Than Most?

  1. I think that because Hodgins doesn’t have his parents anymore (In ‘Aliens’ he specifically says he’s the only Hodgins left) he’s completely over-the-moon that he is finally going to have a family again. Sure, the team has been his family of sorts, but this one is all his…one of his making, where he is the patriarch instead of Booth, where he is the alpha male, not the beta. I think any man would find that appealing.

    Plus, he just loves Angie and his baby. It might be as simple as that. 🙂

  2. He does seem extremely happy, which is a joy to see. He has everything going for him at the moment: the woman he adores is his wife, they just spent 7 months in Paris together, they’re expecting a baby, the Jeffersonian team is back together. All good reasons to smile! So far he hasn’t seemed worried or overprotective or any of those other dad-to-be-type reactions. Surely we will see some anxiety as the big event gets closer, it’s only natural.

    I got the impression that he has no living relatives. Perhaps some will materialize this season, though! Stranger things have happened.

  3. Hey, you guys think Hodgins has a brother who’s half as amazing as he is to introduce to Brennan? I still cannot believe all the stunts stupid/rude/snarky/etc Booth is pullings this season (between skipping the Hodgins baby party and next episode’s Parker situation – does he HAVE to do everything in front of Brennan? GOD!) and I feel that she’d be better off with a sweet, brilliant and funny Hodgins clone.

  4. I love how happy Hodgins is right now. Part of it may be that I think they are still in the honeymoon stage of their marriage…which is great! There may be some rough patches in their future, but I don’t think they’ll let anything tear them apart now…he seems content in the knowledge that he has someone to share the rest of his life with and the fact that they’re adding to that is just icing on the cake 🙂

  5. I think Hodgins is happy because he’s been pretty miserable for most of season four and season five. I mean he had to watch Angela in two separate relationships. And then there was the baby scare Angela had. He was willing to step in and it wasn’t even his responsibility. He’s finally getting that family that he hasn’t had in… a long time (?). I like Hodgins happy. And I’m excited for some fatherly stuff to occur. Yay Hodgins and his happy middle (Not the end yet)!

    • I was thinking the exact same thing. Hodgins and Angela have earned the marital bliss that they’re experiencing, and I don’t think that they’ll let any BIG things (unlike the pregnancy-announcement thing) get between them.

  6. Hmmm… he’s not as nervous as the dads-to-be that I’ve met, but I think he’s just as happy. Maybe although it seems like he has everything… maybe this is just another piece to his personal “everything.” His moment was probably ruined… but I think the scene played out well. It’s now out in the air, and I think everyone was relieved (someone actually said so at the end, as they zoomed out). I think his happiness outweighs the disappointment. He does not have any living parents (I believe that has either been alluded to or actually mentioned in multiple episodes), but he does have an annoying cousin (mentioned in s1, with the security review lady) in a position of power.

  7. Call me paranoid, but Hodgins being this happy has got me worried for him. This actually started last week for me when he listed the three reasons why his life was so great right now and he didn’t want Daisy to ruin them with a personal question of hers. (What were those three things? One was being married to a beautiful wife, another was finding a way to get rid of the parasite, but I can’t remember the third thing.) You know, it’s that feeling where there’s a thin line between everything going right in your life and it all falling apart. I’m worried that Hodgin’s is one step a way from a complete disaster.

    Now I wouldn’t say that if Hodgin’s was real. In fact, I would be trying to hitch a ride on that wave of excitement and positivity. BUT, I’m worried that we’re being set up for something horrible to happen to him (and/or those things he holds so dear) in a literary sense.

  8. It seemed like Booth was particularly mean this past episode, but I don’t want to crucify him even though that’s very tempting since I still feel pretty protective toward Brennan. But I figured I should try to understand his side of the story as much as I try to understand Brennan’s. I think that Booth likes Hannah because she a welcome change and distraction from the whole frustrating situation with Brennan. But without Hannah there as a security blanket (?) he once again feels unhappy/miserable and grouchy, and it affects his reactions to certain things. To me, this episode (TBitB) proved how much Booth is not in a good place. He’s just trying maintain their partnership by focusing on doing his job, and when Bones spouts off all these facts (sometimes irrelevant) like a walking encyclopedia, he just doesn’t want to hear it. And let’s be honest, we’ve all had days where our fuse was shorter than usual. I understand that, but it doesn’t make those scenes any easier to watch or stop me from cringing.

    I know it doesn’t seem like our same “old” Booth, but I’m inclined to agree with the view that Booth hasn’t really changed. He is who he is, and in most cases people are way too complicated to put into good and bad categories. Even Booth knows that, like when he talks to Bones about her father. If the show writers want us to believe that Brennan and Booth bring out the best in each other when they are together, this is proving their point. But bringing out the best in a person implies that the person still has a worst side. Since for the majority of this show they Booth and Brennan have been together on good terms, we’ve seen the good. But we don’t really know that much about Booth before they worked together. We do know that he was gambling, preferred to work alone and he used to be more angry.

    I think it’s interesting that Booth wants the whole family deal when his family life was far from rosy. But he’s an optimist. He still wants it, and when season 5 rolled around he knew who he wanted it with. Booth does try hard to be the perfect everything – brother, grandson, friend, agent, soldier. But I think there’s something behind his wanting to do the right thing. And it’s something that many people tend to expect for playing it right – that it will all pay off in the end. But for all of his efforts, what does Booth have? A rejected marriage proposal, only seeing his son occasionally, a brother who doesn’t appreciate him enough, some failed romantic relationships, and finally rejection from the woman he just “knew” he was fated to be with from the start. When Booth says he can’t pretend and put on a fake smile for Hodgins, I really believe he can’t and I honestly can’t blame him. Right now, Hodgins has it all, and being there would only be a slap in the face of what he wants too. Not only that, but he would have to spend more time in the presence of another woman he denied him of his dream. Booth, who was all about love – “and everything about it was worth it” – when we first met him, has been disillusioned. No wonder he went home to lick his wounds. He’s not the kind of man to let everyone see how badly his heart has been bruised.

  9. You know, the scene in TMitR, I think it was…where he and Ange are at the Diner and I guess she just told him. He’s got the biggest smile I’ve ever seen on his face and it was just one of the most adorable scenes EVER. I started worrying then. But I’m a worrier.

    Hodgins deserves to be happy. I’ve totally been slack on commenting this week, but I’m not great at commenting, I still just…really love seeing him so happy. I don’t know if he’s happier than most dads would be. I know he DESERVES to be just as or more happy, though? I dunno. I’m just happy that he is. It’s probably selfish, though, because that face of adoration is one of the most adorable things ever. I can’t wait to see him in dad-mode! It’s going to be AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

