Bones Theory

Morning After Q: What Five Moments Are You Most Thankful For?

15 Comments

Okay, okay, so maybe five is a random number, so of course I won’t REALLY limit anyone to that. If I did, I would certainly be a hypocrite, as I certainly talk a LOT about BONES.

So five is just a good number with which to start. Let me hear it: the moments you’re thankful for. Some of you have mentioned a few in the comments this week, or even before that. Of course  you’re welcome to include those here too! Or maybe they are just general themes of the show or ideals held by the characters and writers instead of exact moments. Either way, I’m sure that if they are from the perspective of thanksgiving, they’ll be great!

I can’t wait to hear what you have to say! If some of you feel encouraged by what I write, rest assured that it goes both ways and your encouraging comments keep me motivated. I’m not looking for you to tell me five things you love about me or this blog or anything like that. That makes me blush too much, haha. I’m looking to know what BONES moments you’re thankful for. Maybe they made you laugh or cry or angry or just thankful to be alive as we’ve detailed this week. If you were my students, I’d make you tell me your reasons AND WHY! But, thankfully for all of us, that’s not the case, haha, and so you’re welcome, you Bones Theorists you, to either just list or to explain your hearts out. No grades, and besides, today’s a holiday anyway.

So whether it’s five or fifty…I really want to hear it.

PS…if you’re feeling creative and writerly and want to answer the following prompt in the comments, give this a shot…

Choose one character to ‘interview’ and ask this question: “What are you most thankful for? With your family? With your job? With your life?” Go ahead and make them answer the dreaded AND WHY; it won’t hurt them any.

Peace, Love & Bones,

~S

15 thoughts on “Morning After Q: What Five Moments Are You Most Thankful For?

  1. In general, I[‘m thankful for Brennan’s development. She used to be so different in the beginning, and I think that the journey we’ve all embarked on in these past 5 years, is something we should be thankful for.
    I’m thankful for Brennan’s joy when she and Booth join the circus in s4, but I’m also thankful for those sad moments before they departure to Afganistan/Makuku by the end of s5. I’m thankful for the whole group and that we’ll have a newborn squint! I’m thankful, for Hannah…. even when sometimes we hate her, she’s just there to let us know not everything is as easy as it wish we were, but we know there’s something to look forward to in the future and I’m thankful for that.
    Lastly, I’m thankful for the fandom! Even when we have our disagreements, we’re still joined by something beautiful that this show is! 🙂

  2. Apart from their beautiful love and their obvious hotness – one thing I love most about #BONES are the words. They have so wonderful writers, and I’m thankful for sentences that touched me deeply.

    1) “Two plus two equals four. I put sugar in my coffee and it tastes sweet. The sun comes up because the world turns. These things are beautiful to me. There are mysteries I will never understand, but everywhere I look, I see proof that for every effect, there is a corresponding cause, even if I can’t see it. I find that reassuring.”

    2) “People say you only live once, but people are as wrong about that as they are about everything. In the darkest moments before dawn a woman returns to her bed. What life is she leading? Is it the same life the woman was leading a half an hour ago? A day ago? A year ago?”

    3) Gordon-Gordon: “Temperance Brennan. You’re in love with her. You’re building a world around her. A family.”
    Booth: “We’re not compatible. She sees the world one way. I see it…”
    Gordon-Gordon: “No. Of course, it’s absolutely ludicrous the idea of you two together. But, the heart chooses what it chooses, we don’t really have a say in the matter.”

    4) “Here we are. All of us, basically alone, separate creatures just circling each other. All searching for that slightest hint of a real connection. Some look in the wrong places, some, they just give up hope because in their mind they’re thinking, “Oh, there’s nobody out there for me.” But all of us, we keep trying over and over again. Why? Because every once in a while, every once in a while two people meet and there’s that spark. And yes Bones, he’s handsome and she’s beautiful and maybe that’s all they see at first, but making love? Making love, that’s when two people become one.”

    5) “You love someone, you open yourself up to suffering, that’s the sad truth. Maybe they’ll break your heart, maybe you’ll break their heart and never be able to look at yourself in the same way. Those are the risks. That’s the burden. You see two people and you think, they belong together, but nothing happens. The thought of losing so much control over personal happiness is unbearable. That’s the burden. Like wings, they have weight, we feel that weight on our backs, but they are a burden that lifts us. Burdens that allow us to fly.”

  3. OK, these aren’t really moments per say but they are the “things” I’m thankful for about BONES.

    1. Booth finally saying Yowza and the high five with Brennan during Babe in the Bar (I think that’s the episode); it’s a little classic B/B moment that assures me they will eventually get through this … together!

    2. The friendship that B/B share. Again, not a moment but an important part of their relationship. I believe a good relationship starts as a friendship; it’s the underpinning that’s necessary for 30, 40, or 50 years together and they absolutely have that. I think you have to like each other as well as love each other to last. (I’ve been married over 24 years and that’s what holds us together.)

    3. Brennan telling Ange near the end of The Skull in the Dessert that there is more than one person/moment (I can’t recall exactly how she said it) for each of us. I “heard” it to mean B/B have more than just one opportunity to get together and that they haven’t missed it yet. That’s my fantasy and I’m sticking to it!

    4. Fate/Avalon: Booth knowing from the first moment he saw Brennan and Avalon voicing what I think so many fans feel; he knows her and is dazzled by it. Good relationships are based on total acceptance of the other person, warts and all as the saying goes.

    5. You, Sarah. I know you said not to sing your praises but I must. BONES and you have been an important part of my working through some personal grief. I am thankful to have “stumbled” upon your work and even more thankful that you responded to my email and invited me to join the discussion. It felt like getting an answer from a celebrity when you did! Thank you.

    Apologies to all for not being as fluent in specifics on the episodes as the rest of you are. I need to watch each episode about 50 more times each to get there.

  4. 1. I love the fact that Bones shows a lot of respect — for people, for the dead, and even differing ideas about belief systems. I find a lot of hope in that. I was stunned when they had the victim in Perfect Pieces in the Purple Pond diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, and they didn’t turn it into the “medical disorder of the week” sort of thing. And Booth’s trying to say the name was hilarious. I just feel like by poking fun or making EDS seem really weird, if my peers hear about EDS that way, and then I tell them about my EDS, they’re going to gawk. If they see a respectful way of treating EDS, then they’re going to be respectful about it. I think they do that with many of the medical disorders and other situations of the characters. And the debates about religious faith — sure, Brennan teases Booth (a lot) and he teases her, but they still have respect for each other on that matter — that conversation in Devil in the Details proves it (and that was an AMAZING conversation).

    2. I am thankful for the characters. They don’t really fit into stereotypes. Even from the beginning, they didn’t really do that. Each character is unique, and I love it that way. It makes them more “real”.

    3. I am thankful for the journey, especially of one character in particular. I’m not going to say who it is, but one character and I have led similar lives in certain respects… and I am so thankful to find that kinship, because I can’t find any other TV show that I can embrace like this. It gives me a lot of hope for my own future.

    4. I am thankful for these: Scientific names before common names. Fairly accurate science. Using history in a unique way. Mythbusters-esque experiments (one of the writers has to be a closet Mythbusters fan). Memories brought back with a Bill Nye the Science Guy type character. Interns that believe faith and science can live hand in hand. The Jeffersonian’s similarities to the Smithsonian (and dissimilarities). The fact that they finally used the Metro (now I’m waiting for the C&O canal to be mentioned). Bob the fish (both my own and the murder weapon in Predator in the Pool). Random facts. Gunk, goop, dirt, and bugs. Art.

    5. I am thankful for the bond that Bones creates. It has brought me and my little sister together, my friends and I together after a horrible year, and the group of fans here. It has helped me get through some tough times.

    6. I am thankful for the sense of family on the show. The fact that they eat together (“the family table”), discuss everything together, and rely on each other just gives me so much hope, because it proves that there is more than one type of family. It helps me embrace the fact that my friends aren’t just friends, they’re family. And yet again, it gives me hope.

    7. I am thankful for the hope Bones gives. There are a lot of things that are depressing, and difficult, but there is always hope at the end of the show — for B&B, for the murder victim, for the victim’s family, for the Jeffersonian family, for the viewers.

    • Yeah… those totally aren’t moments, but they’re related to moments. Oops. They’re tied up in moments, though. There are too many moments to count for me.

  5. 1. Jared: “Camille.”
    Cam: “JArhead!”

  6. 1. The Conman in the Meth Lab
    Jared: Camille.
    Cam: Jarhead!
    [Seeley & Jared do the Booth giggle]

    2. The Predator in the Pool
    Bones: She’s easily as pretty as I am. I mean, using me as a standard.
    Booth: Bones, you are the standard.

    3. The Proof in the Pudding
    Cam: Hodgins? You’re vibrating…

    4. Mayhem on the Cross
    When they share things abotu their life with Sweets, then take him home to have dinner with Gordon Gordon.

    5. Season 6.
    Anytime Booth is with Hannah. He smiles like he couldn’t be happier. =]

  7. I’ve been thinking about this all day. Most of them are pretty random, since it would almost be easier to ask which scenes I’m not thankful for…
    1) When Booth saves Brennan from Kenton and the accompanying hug in Two Bodies in the Lab. I can just watch that scene over and over and never grow tired of it. (And hey, without that scene, Brennan would be dead and there’d be no show, right?)
    2) Booth and Parker’s Christmas tree surprise for Brennan and her family in The Santa in the Slush. I always cry. There’s just something about how it all comes together that gets me.
    3) The End in the Beginning – the whole thing shows me what they’ll be like when they’re a couple and reminds me of where we’re heading. If I have to pick just one scene, though, I’d pick the love scene. They may not be them, exactly, but they are: “Do you love me?” “Yeah, want me to show you?”
    4) “He knows the truth of you, yet he is dazzled by that truth.” — Isn’t this what we all long for, to be known and loved for who we are? And isn’t one of the reasons we love Brennan so much because we know how much she needs and deserves that kind of love? And here we have a reminder that she is, even if she’s not yet ready to hear it.
    5) *That* scene in The Parts in the Sum of the Whole. It’s hard to watch – not unlike some of this season – but without it, we can’t get where we’re going. We can’t get to where she believes that he knows the truth of her and is dazzled by it, or to where we see that love scene between Booth and Brennan rather than their alternate selves. However uncomfortable it is, it’s necessary, and for that, I’m thankful Hart was willing to go there.

    • You’re right….I know you’re right….but it hurts….Thanks for your positive take on things that hurt sometimes…..We will get there won’t we…..We aren’t living this dream and Booth will end up with someone else and Brennan will be off alone on a dig somewhere? We will get the payoff?

  8. Five seems like a perfectly reasonable number to ME. I mean, I like six, or maybe eight, even better, but…five is good. So. Here we go.

    5. “She’s my partner, ese. If anything happens to her, I will find you, and I will kill you. I won’t think twice.” I mean, honestly! You can’t tell me you’re not thankful for that little bit of awesomeness in your life. I am. He’s got her back, even when she doesn’t know it.

    4. “There’s more than one kind of family.” And he tilts her chin, and then Zack is bouncing at the window with Hodgins’ fuzzy mohawk hat on looking like a kid on Christmas. Yeah, there is more than one kind. Lord knows I’m thankful for that.

    3. Okay, crap. I have a dilemma. See, I wanted to include something from The Man in the Fallout Shelter. So I was going to say, “Your robot reminds me of you. You tell it to turn, it stops. You tell it to stop, it turns. You ask it to take out the garbage, it watches reruns of Firefly.” Because really. That’s pretty much a perfect summary of Zack, bless his heart. Then I remembered, “Friends don’t let friends photocopy their butts!” and that amuses me just as much. And Booth jumping up and down behind Bones when she can’t see him, then arguing with her about faith with his finger in her face. ARGH. “Be kind, rewind.” “My parental rights are totally…” “Vague?” “That word’s a little more Christmasier than what I was thinking.” “(rant conspiracy theory about religion) But that doesn’t mean God doesn’t love me.” And…okay, enough. The whole episode counts as a moment, we’ll go with that. Heh.

    2. “You’re gonna make me fall!” “I’m never gonna make you fall. I’m always here!” Call me a sucker for sap, but I’m unapologetic! Utterly unapologetic. That whole episode was amazingly cool (“We’re BOOTH’S people!”, anybody?), but that scene just leaves me smiling for an hour or so every time I watch it. Seriously. It’s adorable.

    1. “Burdens that allow us to fly.” That whole paragraph — I think somebody already mentioned it, so I won’t repeat it — written by Bones, spoken by Hodgins…just…I don’t know. It’s a weird thing to be the most beautiful thing I’ve ever read, but it is. I honestly just can’t think of anything else. No poetry, songs, definitely nothing in a book. The metaphor, the burden being wings, that’s beautiful. That’s a beautiful way to put something that doesn’t FEEL particularly beautiful.

    Anyways, yeah. There’s my five-ish moments.

  9. 5 Bones things i’m thankful for. This is hard as, like Ryn it’d be easier yto say what i wasn’t thankful for, but i’ll give it my best shot 😀

    1. Two Bodies In A Lab- The ENTIRE episode. From Booth’s reaction to David (who doesn’t love that?). To learning more about Booth’s past through Brennan and the x-rays. To Hodgins and Booth in the hospital and the ‘pudding’ incident. To B & H driving to the rescue in Hodgins’s toy car! And finally the big rescue and hug that follows between Booth and Brennan. Love this episode!

    2. ‘Both and eve and a day. It’s a christmas miracle!!’- hehehe, it doesn’t matter how many times i watch this episode. How many times i hear Booth say it. I get the most ridiculous grin on my face. Every. Single. Time.

    3. Seeley Booth with a gun….and handcuffs!- Need i say anymore? What i do? OK….i’ll expand on it, just for you (the things i do! LOL). For me their is something about a guy and a gun (….and handcuff) that is SO hot. I’m not talking about random guys on the street who carry one to look ‘hard’ or gangs/thugs that use them. But soldiers/police/FBI etc, who use them as protection/in the line of duty. It’s just so….i dunno. Hot. I can’t explain it…my mum just says i have issues! LOL. Whether he’s pointing a gun down a gang members throat as he warns them off his partner or shooting a melon to prove a point to the squints. It’s just sooooooooooo god damn hawt!

    4. Jack Hodgins- I’m just thankful to him as a whole. The things he’s said…his actions…his dedication to justice AND Brennan…and the love he has for Angela, however misguided i think it is. Everyone should be loved the way he loves Angela….FACT!

    5. This scene!

    (Booth grabs Vega and throws him down on the table)

    BOOTH: Here’s the deal, all right. You have a relationship with this guy, what they call symbiotic – you benefit from each other – hmm. So know this. That deadline comes around, and my partner is still underground – I will end you. You understand? Yeah? (he picks him off off the table) Three hours to live. (He throws Vega out of his office) Better hurry.

    I mean come on….yeah he was screwing Cam at the time, but his devotion to Brennan was just….wow. NOTHING was going to stop him from finding her…nothing!

  10. 1. “Spit in my hand, we’re Scully and Mulder.” it has to be one of the best pilots ever right? i mean the chemistry is incredible form the first episode.

    2. this one’s a bit out of the ordinary. in The Girl in Suite 2103, with the Columbian judge or whoever she was, i love how Booth stuck to his convictions, and didn’t let Cam set up fake evidence to get a confession out of the suspect. (Also in season 2, Tony and Roxy in Vegas!)

    3. the “making love” speech. makes me alll warm and fuzzy inside 🙂

    4. the amazingness that was Mayhem on a Cross. totally made up for the dissappointment of the fantasy episode at the end of season 4. except if you take The End in the Beginning out of context, it was an awesome peice of filmmaking.

    5. the 100th episode!! wow. could anything else have changed the entire way everyone viewed the show? it was the best episode of the series so far. except maybe Aliens in A Spaceship.

    *(Can i be thankful for the Gravedigger and Epps too? they’re horrible villians, but they made some of the best plots.)

  11. I was confusing this with thankful for in S6. Nothing.

    So, how to pick 5 scenes. Just think of ones I go back to and re-watch when I’m sick over what’s been going on since ep 100.

    1) Ice skating scene at the end of Fire in the Ice — I just love this. This is my sure thing. It always cheers me up. It’s just the two of them. They are revealing themselves emotionally, if indirectly. Bones is there to take care of Booth, and she’s also letting herself depend on him completely from a physical perspective (keeping her upright and safe on the ice). And, they are just enjoying being together and having fun.
    2) The penultimate and ultimate scenes in Two Bodies in the Lab. The first strong physical interaction, I think, but also an intensely emotional moment. You know for certain how he feels about her. In the hospital, the first hint of how she may feel about him. That she postpones her date to be with Booth. I love when she tries to sit close to him, but it ends up being too close.
    3) Booth as evidence in Goop on the Girl — well, shirtless Booth, but also Booth’s reactions to what Bones is doing.
    4) Passenger in the Oven — the attempt to do the librarian let’s down her hair scene and the final scene. The first because you could see it coming up Broadway, but of course Bones didn’t get it and then she tries letting down her hair and taking off the glasses and she still doesn’t get it. The final scene — one of those nice moments between B&B, and Bones still doesn’t get why people keep expecting them to kiss.
    5) I can’t stop with 5, so here are some more that I can re-watch again and again
    Headless Witch in the Woods — the guy hug
    Boneless Body — of course Booth is there — I knew it even before the camera pulled back to widen the shot
    Verdict in the Story — final scene — the hug, but the looks B&B exchange, the look of happiness on Brennan’s face, Caroline’s comments about Bones. Note: You can see Booth behind the post before he comes out and goes to Brennan — editing error?
    Wannabe in the Weeds — final scene — Brennan can’t hide her feelings now.
    Perfect Pieces in the Purple Pond — final scene — they can’t help being a sexy FBI agent and a sexy author
    The Cinderella in the Cardboard — final scene — Bones is jealous and she will someday believe in love and feel it; what he doesn’t say (from me) breaks my heart, esp in light of what has happened from ep 100.
    Night at the Bones Museum — when Booth confronts her about the egg, what she realizes; the final scene, so close
    Dwarf in the Dirt — from talking with GG in the kitchen through to the scene at the firing range — there’s everything: how others have failed them, what isn’t spoken, what isn’t understood, Booth’s insecurities, Brennan’s blind spots, but how they can only succeed together
    Proof in the Pudding — final scene — Cam acknowledging what Bones did for Booth; B&B walking off together — how their conversation sums up their relationship
    X in the File — final scene — just sweet and funny and even Brennan gets playful acknowledging that she’s an alien anthropologist

    Yes, I really do re-watch these when I need cheering up about B&B.

  12. Oh so much love for Show!!!

    5 moments…. *Mel is biting her nails thinking*

    1. The End in the Beginning.
    It is hands down my favorite episode of Bones. It is gorgeous, it is the “end game”, it makes me laugh and cry and squeal with utter satisfaction & JOY.

    2. The scene at the end of “Wannabe in the Weeds” before Booth gets shot. Bones is dancing & singing and completely enjoying the moment… Booth is BEAMING at her, utterly enchanted and happy. That moment should be frozen in time forever!!!

    3. The Conman in the Meth Lab
    The whole ep. Painful pieces and all. Cuz its just so damn important.

    4. The Double Death of the Dearly Departed
    WHOLE EP!!! Because it is hysterical and I love it.

    5. Aliens in a Spaceship
    Again, the whole ep. But Booth’s run down the sand to get to Brennan and her absolute trust that he would find them? Gives me chills every single time.

  13. I love the characters in the show. They are all so unique and have such a great relationship with each other. The characters are what keeps my family watching the show.

    I love the two bodies in the lab episode. Some of my all time favorite moments come from this episode. Pudding, hot blooded, booth saving bones, bones staying with booth at the end. It’s just perfection.

    I am thankful for season 5. I think it is my favorite so far. Probably because this season has the best B&B moments. The reunion, 100th episode, pops, the christmas episode. It just seems like B&B spend so much time together and are practically a couple the whole season.

    Dwarf in the Dirt. One of my other favorite episodes. I love the entire thing and could watch it over and over. Especially the recertification part with the beautiful song in the background and watching booth’s reaction after he is recertified. The entire episode is amazing and funny.

Leave a Reply

