Bones Theory

Five Minor Turning Points

21 Comments

Good morning!

First of all, thanks to everyone who commented on the Five Major Turning Points List!  I really wanted to comment and reassure you that the moments you’ve mentioned are ones I love too, but I didn’t want to spoil (Bones Theory IS Spoiler Free, after all) any of the other/future lists. But I have to say, some episodes/moments were eye-opening for me – you all have really made me reconsider some things!

But for now, here’s the second list, the ‘minor’ — using that term very loosely – turning points. ‘Minor’ doesn’t mean unimportant. It mostly means that coming up with more than five major turning points seemed to be cheating, and when forced to choose, I couldn’t convince myself that these were more important than the moments in the first turning points post. Which is probably still cheating, because it means I’ve really done two ‘Major turning points’ posts, only I’m calling this one the minor ones.  And of course, as noted, even now I’m waffling and arguing with myself about whether some of these are, in fact, more important than some of those…oh, never mind. Onto the list!

1) The Boy in the Shroud  

This has two scenes that strike me as turning points, actually.  The first has to do with Booth’s loyalty to Brennan. Cam is not just the new boss, she’s not just someone Booth’s known for a while or who he will soon have a fling with. She’s a longtime friend, and that’s ‘Friend’ with a capital F. They’ve known each other for thirteen years at this point, and Cam not only knows him, she gets him better than he realizes. She knows his family even to understanding how he and Jared relate.  Later on, we find out she was directly responsible for his meeting Brennan in the first place. And none of that history or connection matters, because he’s ‘with Bones, all the way.’ 

I don’t believe he’s in love with Brennan yet, though I’d say he’s on the verge of it. But they’re friends, something deep enough, perhaps ‘other enough’ enough that he doesn’t blink before aligning himself with her against another old friend. “Don’t doubt it for a second,” he says. I love what that says to both us and Cam about him, and about where their relationship is going.

The second turning point in the episode is the last scene, where both we and Brennan see another side to Cam.  She’s compassionate, and while not perfect, a good leader.  She lets Brennan know she respects her enough to let her have her way on occasion with no questions asked, while at the same time setting limits. But not only do we see them reach an understanding about their working relationship, we see the beginning of a friendship formed in their shared affection for Booth.  Cam doesn’t reach out to Brennan simply because she doesn’t want to lose her team, but also, I think, because she understands Brennan is important to Booth in some way that neither of them yet understand. She wants to know her better.  And Brennan? I’m always struck by how well she knows Booth here, immediately realizing he’s told Cam about her past, and that he will know they’ve talked about it.  Brennan is often viewed as clueless, but when it matters? When it involves Seeley Booth? She gets him more than even she realizes. (Something I think we’re seeing this season, actually.)

2) Aliens in a Spaceship

Not surprising, really, but I think this episode got moved around more than any other when I was trying to decide which list it belonged on.  Although it’s not my absolute personal favorite episode, I’ve never seen a poll where it’s not the number one episode of the majority of people who voted. Don’t get me wrong – I love it to bits, and it’s definitely up there. It’s just not number one for me, and I have a sneaking suspicion that’s because Booth and Brennan spend much of the episode apart.

Still, it’s undeniably an important episode. A powerful episode. Brennan is more emotionally accessible than she normally is, and the moments between her and Hodgins are amazing. There’s not a misstep anywhere in the episode from an acting perspective, and watching the way they all work together gives me chills.

But the only thing that really seems to change in the episode, or after it, is Hodgins and Angela’s relationship.  We see Brennan challenged by Hodgins about the nature of faith.  But after the episode, does anything really change?  Do we see any change in how she views faith vs. reason? Or how she relates to Hodgins? I don’t think so, and even knowing who Brennan is, it sort of seems like we should.

I went back and forth for days between this and Judas on a Pole, debating which was the major turning point, and which the minor. And part of why I finally went with Judas on a Pole being the more significant of the two is that I think it builds on this, that when Booth says, ‘there’s more than one kind of family’ it’s a reflection and furthering of what we saw here. But this on its own, as much as I love it, doesn’t feel as significant in the overall scheme of things, however amazing it is.

(This, by the way, is the one I thought people would feel most strongly about that it belonged in the major turning points list.)

 

3) Con Man in the Meth Lab

This is another awkward one. At various times, it was a candidate for a major turning point, a turning point for Booth (when he tells Brennan about his father), and a turning point for Brennan (when she learns something new and important about Booth).  And maybe the reason it feels like a major turning point is that all those things are true.

Still, it would be cheating to go back and swap things around again now, so…I’ll highlight a scene that I think is important, and which I don’t believe gets enough attention from fans: the scene in the observation room, where she tells him what Jared said, and he gets angry with her. Did you see that? He gets angry. With Brennan.

Not frustrated because she’s spouting Science when he wants English, not irritated because she’s bashing religion. But honest-to-goodness anger. Until now, we’ve not often seen him vulnerable to his feelings for her. But  like Stephanie said yesterday, here we do.  It’s not just a turning point for him though, because it affects her, too. We see her remorse later, when she confronts Jared. “You know, I wouldn’t blame Booth if he never spoke to me again.”

He gets angry, she learns more about him, and their relationship is stronger for both by the end.

 

4) Pain in the Heart

First a confession: I really, truly loathe the beginning of this episode, naked Booth notwithstanding. None of it works for me, and I pretty much want to murder Sweets for the casual way he violates one of the biggest ethical rules in psychology without a qualm.  But that said, the end is undeniably a turning point in the series, another one that arguably could have been a major turning point.

We see all of them react to Zach’s loss, and something that recently occurred to me is to wonder if part of the reason Booth takes Gordon’s comment about Sweets looking for a family to heart and adopts him as sort of a younger brother is because he still feels guilty for not having spent more time with Zach. If he’d reached out to Zach, been more open to the ways Zach reached out to him, would Zach have been as vulnerable to Gormogon? Booth, being Booth, still wonders that.

But Brennan? One of the only clear steps backwards for her in the entire series is the barriers she puts up – and keeps up – with the squinterns after Zach. She loved him, plain and simple. You see it in a thousand ways throughout three seasons, and especially in the hospital when he’s telling them the truth about Gormogon and she leans over and rests her forehead against his.  But after he’s gone, she’s careful to keep a distance between her and the interns. She won’t let herself get close to any of them, won’t call them by their first names – even Daisy, whom she spent seven months with in Maluku, remains ‘Ms. Wick.’ So not only is it a turning point, it’s a reversal of sorts for her.

 

5) Fire in the Ice/The Beginning in End

Okay, I’m totally cheating here, but these two together form a reversal for both Booth and Brennan, one that’s important. In Fire in the Ice, Booth says to her, “Nothing’s gonna change between me and you.” And Brennan responds, “Well, entropy is a natural force that pulls everything apart at a subatomic level. Everything changes.”  He then repeats, ‘Not everything,’ and promises to always be there.

Fast forward a year and a bit, to the season 5 finale.

They’re on the bench, talking about leaving. She’s now the one who says, “We can come back, pick up where we left off.  Nothing really has to change.” and he responds, “No, things have to change.” So the rational scientist has changed her mind about the inevitability of change because, I think, she’s accepted that she needs constancy, at least from him – even when she’s preparing to run from him. And the heart guy, who’s been all about teaching her about constancy, and faith, and love…he caves a bit, in the face of his own pain. He’s still going to be there for her, however she wants him. He’s never going to walk away from friendship with her, if that’s all she wants.  But he’s acknowledging defeat here, accepting that what he wanted to be true is never going to be.  (By the way, I believe this is his true low point, not the conversation in the 100th.)

So what do you think? Given that there are still three lists left, are there candidates I overlooked which should be here? And in the spirit of making it more challenging – if you’re suggesting one for this list, tell me which of these five it should replace, and why.

21 thoughts on “Five Minor Turning Points

  1. I think this is a great post rynogeny. You’ve argued your points very well. Am I allowed to like this list better than the first one?!? (Seriously, I think I do).

    There are two things I want to comment on. First up:

    “And the heart guy, who’s been all about teaching her about constancy, and faith, and love…he caves a bit, in the face of his own pain. He’s still going to be there for her, however she wants him. He’s never going to walk away from friendship with her, if that’s all she wants. But he’s acknowledging defeat here, accepting that what he wanted to be true is never going to be. (By the way, I believe this is his true low point, not the conversation in the 100th.)”

    This is very eloquently said and I think very, very true. I completely agree with what you said about this scene being Booth’s low point (as opposed to the 100th). If Brennan’s rejection in the 100th was the catalyst – the push that made the first domino wobble – then their conversation on the park bench sent that domino crashing into the next one and so on and so forth. Of course, if this is the true low point (and not the 100th), then that raises the question – should your The Fire in the Ice/End in the Beginning combo actually be on your major turning points list instead of The Parts in the Sum of the Whole? (I’m not sure what I think about that, I’m just raising the question to be difficult 🙂 ).

    Second:

    I love, love, love, love the scene (#1) between Booth and Cam in The Boy in the Shroud. As much as I like Cam now, I always feel like cheering whenever I watch it because it’s proof positive that Booth’s got Brennan’s back – no matter what. And I agree completely with what you said about Brennan knowing Booth better than anyone. We are definitely seeing that this season – the phone scene with Hannah is a perfect example.

    Thanks again for a great post and I can’t wait for next week!

    • Rats. I just realized I used the wrong episode title in my first point. I meant to say The Beginning in the End. But you all knew that, right?

      The more I think about it, the more I (seriously) think that perhaps #5 should be considered a major turning point instead of the 100th episode. As I said before, if the 100th was the catalyst (the beginning OF the end), and I really think it was since Brennan’s decision to leave wouldn’t have been nearly so significant without the events of the 100th, then the finale was the breaking point. Catalyst=minor. Breaking point=major. On the other hand, implying that the 100th episode was anything other than major should probably be considered the equivalent of blasphemy in the Bones world so perhaps I should reconsider.

      Then again, I think I made a mistake in glossing over what rynogeny said about change in favor of what she said about low points. As she pointed out, Brennan and Booth kind of switch viewpoints between The Fire in the Ice and The Beginning in the End. That Brennan would, ironically, change her mind in that way probably shouldn’t be taken lightly.

      • Thanks for your comments! I think you’re making a valid point about the change-combo being more major than The Parts in the Sum of the Whole. Will have to think about that in light of other turning points yet to be explored.

        I do think that their reversing their positions on change is significant for both of them. I’ve got an idea for a post exploring that, but think we need to get further through the season before I’ll know for sure. 😉

  2. I still think that the End in the Beginning needs to be on one of these lists, as it’s Booth’s coma that makes him realize consciously his love for Brennan, which alters the dynamic of their relationship possibly forever.

    Maybe that’s a bit dramatic.

    Anyhow, I would sub it in for Aliens in a Spaceship, as I really don’t see how that’s much of a turning point. I mean, it gets Angela and Hodgins together, but no one really changes. The situation doesn’t really change. (I haven’t seen this episode for a while, though, so I may be totally off…)

    The other four, I agree with COMPLETELY!

    Thank you for another fabulous post! They always get me thinking 🙂

  3. WOW Love it…

    I have to admit that this website is one of the things that keeps my passion for bones going. It is hard to watch. Is anyone else struggling with their relationship? When I used to be giddy after an episode and excited for the next week, I am now sad and hurting inside for these characters. Are other people going through this? Do I need to get a life and remind myself that these are “just” characters? Is this just our low point in observing their process? I have to admit that I am on the verge of giving up on my favorite TV couple/show? What is a fan to do? Am I alone in this feeling? I keep telling myself to hold on a little longer, but sometimes I feel like the hole is just getting deeper between these two. What do I focus on to keep the hope alive?

    • You’re not alone – I know a lot of people who are struggling with the very question you’re asking: it’s painful to watch, so why do so? It’s a completely valid question, I think.

      For me, the answer is in their relationship, in what it says to me about hope and hanging on. Not my hanging on as a fan, hoping ‘everything happens eventually’ (as I believe it will) but what they’re teaching us.

      Relationships are fragile. So the ones that mean the most to me in books and films are the ones that survive, in spite of trials and of being tested. That’s why I think some people are missing the point of B/B this season. Yes, they’re apart in a way we’ve not seen them before, as he’s with Hannah and she’s processing that…and yet, they’re not.

      She broke his heart last spring, first when she told him no, and then when she left. I think he still has feelings for her, in spite of his relationship with Hannah (thinking about some of the looks we’ve seen him give her) and given that, given he has no hope of her changing her mind, and indeed, he’s moved on…it would have been easier for him to say no to them resuming their working partnership.

      And he didn’t do that, is never going to do that. Why? Because while he may be in love, or think he’s in love with Hannah, he still loves Brennan. Maybe it’s not the romantic love of a lifetime that he wanted it to be, but their bond is still there. He’s never going to walk away from her – in fact, even now, he’s trying to give her what she wants.

      For me, the key has always been that bond between them, one that’s deeper than romantic love. It’s not that their being together as a romantic couple isn’t important to me. It is. But together, they’re so much more than that. That what I’ve highlighted in some of these turning points. As early as the fifth episode, she trusts him when she really has little reason to do so. By the beginning of the 2nd season – before romantic love enters the picture – he aligns himself with her against an old friend. They’d die for each other, they’d kill for each other – and they’re always, always going to try and be there for each other.

      So this season, we’ve got him trying his best to give her what she wanted: friendship and partnership, and nothing more. Is it hard for him? Yeah, I think it is, because in spite of his genuine feelings for Hannah, I think he has still has feelings for Brennan. I think we see that in the look he gives her at the end of The Maggot in the Meathead. I think we see it in his immediately seconding Hannah’s invitation – twice that we know of – to eat with them. He wants to spend time with her, and furthermore, I think he knows she’s lonely. I think we see it in his pride in her at the end of The Body in the Bounty, and when he rushes to reassure her about her attractiveness in The Twisted Bones in the Melted Truck.

      And at the same time, we see her making sure he gets the phone he wants, see her trying to make sure Hannah knows enough about him not to hurt him. It may not be the romantic love he dreamed of – yet – but she loves him.

      Their bond is still there, real and powerful in spite of the strain it’s under right now, and I love watching that because it reminds me that we can love like that in real life, if we choose. We can stick when it would be easier to walk away, we can choose to love (not just romantic relationships, but with families and friends, too) even when giving up might feel like the saner thing to do.

      And when ‘eventually’ happens, as I believe it will, what will they have then for having experienced this? I can only think it will be an even stronger bond. That’s what I’m hoping for, and honestly think we’re going to see. I think a lot of us thought last year had to be it because how could they belong together more than they already seemed to? How could they grow closer? But that’s a failure of imagination on our part, I think. I think Hart can imagine them being even closer, their bond being even stronger, and knows that that happens by that bond being tested, being proven as it’s being proven right now.

      So that’s what I’m focusing on – those moments that show that bond is still there, whether it’s Booth getting in the face of someone threatening his partner, or the smile/thumbs up when she’s on stage as the Bone Lady, or when she harasses some hapless x-ray tech into letting her see Hannah’s x-rays. It’s there, and after all they’ve been through, I love to see those moments that shout at me, ‘see? It’s still there.’

      • Thank you….you had great points….I sure do hope you are right!!!

      • Well said rynogeny. Thanks. For what it’s worth, I’m not ready to give up on Bones yet either. Some of the episodes this season have hurt, yes, but I think it will all be worth it in the end. A lot of people don’t believe that, and that’s fine. Me? The way I see it, no pain, no gain. Maybe I’m a glutton for punishment, but I’m in this for the long haul.

    • You are not the only one. I’m not even really upset about the direction of Bones. Hart’s show – Hart’s ideas. And I can even understand why some things happen or why some things have to happen even if I don’t understand everything. I think it’s hard because it’s a TV show with new episodes usually once a week during a season. If we could watch a new episode of Bones everyday, starting with the 100th, and watch straight through so that things go faster (for us), I don’t think it would be as painful. So week after week, month after month, we’re watching angst. I love this show, and I know I’ll keep watching even if it’s just to see what happens, but it does take its toll when you are more invested than a casual viewer.

    • Totally and completely agree with you. I expect to stop watching after this week’s episode. I simply don’t see how they can dig out of this given where it seems to be going. And, frankly, I no longer believe anything that comes from HH, SN or for that matter DB and ED. So much so, that I no longer believe that HH will bring them together eventually, or at least that I can no longer rely on that.
      I have been sick at heart and to my stomach since the 100th ep and nothing this season has made it any better. In fact, it’s made it worse.
      TV is supposed to be about entertainment. I am not finding Bones entertaining any more. It’s just totally depressing. I cry whenever I think about.
      Faith and hope are gone. Sorry.

    • Great post, but I’m afraid I’m not going to respond directly. I think the deep feelings among viewers (whether anger, sadness, disappointment, anticipation, enthusiasm or obsession) are all a testament to the writers/HH/SN — it shows they have created a world people care enough about to have a strong opinion, one way or another. A much better alternative than indifference! And Bones Theory helps me keep my feelings on the positive end of the spectrum. I find that what I love about Bones Theory is that, even at the darkest, most hopeless moments, the relationships in the show, the progress of the characters and the details of their personal and professional lives, can be discussed thoroughly and positively, as though these are, in fact, REAL PEOPLE whom we all care about. Reading the wonderful posts that Sarah, Rynogeny, Stephanie et al bring to us I am constantly amazed at the depth of characterization they uncover, and the the light they cast on the paths and progressions from season to season. Is it all intentional on the part of the writers? Maybe not all the time. (I remember my old college English essays about great literature–look hard enough and I could find something to support even the most unlikely theory!) But the world HH & Co have created is so complex and so detailed, we don’t even have to look that hard to come up with so much to discuss. So here’s a shout-out to the writers for giving us that depth, and another to Bones Theory for providing such a civilised way to augment my enjoyment of a great TV show.

  4. It’s very hard for me to watch too. I don’t think I have been so anxious to see an episode as I am for this Thursday. I agree that Booth’s lowest point was definitely the season 5 finale. I would also argue that the season 5 finale or first episode of season 6 is a major turning point. Brennan leaves to Muluku to process what her relationship with Booth means. By season 6, she seems to know. Somewhere in the middle was a huge turning point for her.

  5. I will just add that I think all this business about getting them to a better bond to being even happier for them IF it happens — I just don’t buy it. I wish they’d at least be honest about it. This is not inevitable or organic. It is all happening because they decided that they couldn’t put them together yet. What flows from how they ran with that decision is more or less inevitable, but I refuse to accept that keeping them apart in this way was the only way they could go.
    I have said before that I find this the obvious way to go. Since Moonlighting and before, everyone believes that getting the couple together spells death for the show. I simply don’t buy that. I see that as a failure of courage and creativity. Going against that hallowed wisdom would be the truly break through thing to do now.
    I am not suggesting that they should have hurried them into the sack or down the aisle, quite the contrary. I think there could be enough problems with these two trying to figure out how to be a couple.
    I will also once again say that I found with many shows (inc. Moonlighting), by the time they finally brought the couple together, I just didn’t care any more. To much teasing and misdirection makes a suspicious, distrusting fan. Furthermore, I also have come to wonder whether this drag it out approach forces things to such a fever pitch that by the time they do get together, there is nothing that can top it.
    And, since they’ve driven them so far apart (and given that every indication is that they will be driven further apart), I’ve begun to wonder how the partnership/friendship can survive. I don’t see how Brennan isn’t driven to run away again. I am also skeptical that anyone can bring them back together without betraying their characters at this point.
    Yeah, I have lost hope and faith.
    Oh well, It’s pointless to go one about it. I’ll just go cry and take a zantac and a xanax: settle my stomach and my nerves.

  6. This week’s episode is the one that is a turning point for Booth and Brennan. When Brennan falls apart ,I hope Booth goes to and holds her in his arms !!

  7. I love your lists! It has made me rethink all of these moments in terms of how they changed and shaped each character. I see where you are coming from with Alien’s in a Spaceship and why it’s a ‘minor’ turning point. I think we, as fans, see how it affected everyone and helped us to view the relationships in a different way, more so than seeing actual changes in the characters. (If that makes sense).

    I look forward to your upcoming lists!

  8. I just watched The Man in the Morgue. I would argue that this episode is a minor turning point. This is the first time we see Booth help Brennan without the guise of guilt he may feel for getting her involved in FBI homicides. He comes to Louisiana on his own. This is also the first time Brennan knows that Booth cares for her- I mean REALLY cares about her more than just a partner and believes in her. He knows without a shadow of a doubt that she could not have killed anyone.
    At the very end, Booth gives Brennan her mother’s earring back claiming THINGS do have meaning and power over her future. Angela asks Brennan, “Does that prove something?”
    Brennan looks at the earring, then looks at the exit where Booth exited, and says “Yeah, that proves something.” To me, the glimmer in her eyes suggests that she realized how much Booth did for her.

    I would say that this would replace Fire in the Ice/The beginning in the End. I still feel that The beginning in the End is more of a major turning point than a minor one. Fire in the Ice may allude to changes that may occur in the future but I wouldn’t call it a turning point in of itself.

    • I think you’re making a good point here about Man in the Morgue. I’m going to have to think about that some more.

      I think you’re missing the point about Fire in the Ice/The Beginning in the End, though. By itself, Fire in the Ice isn’t a turning point at all, though I’m always going to love that last scene. But combined with TEitB, I think the fact that we see these two people completely reverse themselves in areas of importance to both of them (with Booth acknowledging that sometimes constancy isn’t enough, that change has to happen, and with Brennan going for the opposite) is significant. I suspect people think Brennan’s change, her acceptance that something which is tied to a scientific principle, is the more important of the two, but I think Booth, who’s been all about faith and loyalty and being a rock, saying that change is inevitable is possibly even more significant. It’s certainly heartbreaking.

      As to the rest of your comment…still have three lists left. 😉

      • The Beginning of the End – that is the turning point because of what we know from B&B past in the episode the Fire in the Ice. Basically, we have the same point but I think that it is all conveyed in the episode The Beginning of the End (which, again, I feel should be a major turning point).

        Btw, I love this site and I love that I can discuss these episodes freely without feeling stupid about dissecting a t.v. show.

  9. Great list; I wouldn’t even know how to begin to pick the episodes, but I think you did a great job. I would argue though that Con Man should be listed as a major, not minor, turning point (oh, for a scene study from that episode!). In my opinion, the turning point happens towards the very end, beginning with her speech at the bar. True, it wasn’t a proper apology as we would define it, but for Brennan it was more than that. Being a rational person, I believe she finds apologies somewhat meaningless-the damage has been done and mere words are not going to change that fact. So instead of “I’m sorry” she proceeds to offer him something more significant: proof, in front of everyone, that she has altered her set of long-held beliefs because of him. Anthropology, as we know, provides a major compass for Brennan to lead her life by. What she understands about people and their interactions with each other boils down to what she has observed through her work-predicatable attitudes and responses based on rigid social norms. Jared showed her all the attributes of the alpha male; the plumage, the baubles, the high-profile job. Booth keeps his profile low, perhaps in her view purposefully avoiding the credit which would give him a higher ranking in society. Her admission that anthropology had it all wrong in this case, that it could not properly categorize Booth’s quiet sacrifice, is a big admission for her. Her compass, it seems, cannot provide all the answers-sometimes you have to go beyond the obvious evidence to get the ones you need.

    The turning point for Booth comes at the end. Other than the unbearable strain he was under in Soldier on the Grave when he speaks about the one sniping incident, Booth has seldom shared anything about his personal life with Brennan. He refuses to market himself to others, to explain himself in a way that would make him more likable because he ultimately believes that any type of personal revelation is going to make him look weak. He thinks, in fact, that those revelations are going to make people like him less, as if his childhood and war time experiences are in some way deserved and a reflection of what a bad person he really is. Those three little words, uttered quietly on that bench, are the first steps taken to open himself to the possibilty that Brennan might accept him for what he is-and an acknowledgement that the whole misunderstanding with Jared might have stemmed in part from his refusal to explain himself in any way that would make sense to others. Brennan, after all, is not psychic and obviously needs more than what he has offered up to that point to truly understand him.

    So there’s my argument for Con Man. It’s probably my favorite episode, with those last five minutes being the reason why.

  10. I love how ‘minor’ really means ‘just as major, but hey, we set a limit so…” because i do that kind of thing all of the time. If there are 112 episodes or so, then I have that many moments that I love. 🙂

    Boy in the Shroud was when I originally fell in absolute love with Booth, so it’s very special in my heart. Not that I didn’t have love for him before that, or attraction or interest, but after that episode, I was with Booth…all the way.

    I sort of lump Beginning in the End with season six, which means it is in the ‘haven’t really re-watched’ column, but I agree with you that it’s momentous. I also think that Pain in the Heart is as well. I think that the rushed storylines put a cramp in that episode, and I’m sad that we’ll never see Brennan’s process of dealing with Booth’s death. But, I guess, compared to other storylines, we did get some insight into it, what with the beginning (one of the most creative BONES beginnings, IMO).

Leave a Reply

