Bones Theory

Best BONES Christmas Episode Ever? The Results Show!

7 Comments

Hey, hey, hey to the hey! (as Brennan might say, “Hay…is for horses!”)

It’s time for the results of the BONES THEORY Best BONES Christmas Episode EVER discussion! It was interesting to me how it all shook out, once the votes were tallied up. I hope you’re pleased with the final outcome! Since there are three episodes to choose from, I decided to award a point system. The highest amount of votes receives a ‘3’, the second highest a ‘2’ and the third highest a ‘1’. So read on to find out which episode (Man in the Fallout Shelter, Santa in the Slush, Goop on the Girl) had the best…

1. Title

    

This category had the most ‘spread-out’ of the votes, as each episode got several votes. In the end, Man in the Fallout Shelter won, and that works for me!

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 3

Santa in the Slush: 2

Goop on the Girl: 1

2. Actual honest-to-goodness case:

Man in the Fallout Shelter received the most votes for this one too, and as Frankie said, “How cool is it that they were able to solve an old murder case without ever leaving the lab, and in solving this case they were able to give a woman back her faith in the man she loved.”

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 3

Santa in the Slush: 1

Goop on the Girl: 2

3. Use of the Squints (including Sweets):

You all gave lots of great examples for this one, and I was tempted to use my one ‘over-rule’ on this one, but in the end, I went with the majority and chose Man in the Fallout Shelter. Hodgins in a towel, yep.

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 3

Santa in the Slush: 2

Goop on the Girl: 1

4. Music

Through a sort of random series of events, I ended up with about $100 worth of iTunes gift cards for Christmas. That’s very nice, but I was kind of overwhelmed. So I asked my brother and sisters what they thought I might like, and my brother (who has the best taste in music, and knows my style best) recommended Ingrid Michaelson, based on a recommendation he’d received from pal Heather (who likes BONES, so…I knew she could be trusted!). So I checked it out, and was very impressed.  Long story short, when I did the tally for this category, I was shocked to see Ingrid’s name mentioned over and over for her song “Snowfall” in Goop on the Girl. So I bought that song too. You are all so much more evolved than me. Perhaps I should use more of my money to build up my BONES soundtrack!

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 2

Santa in the Slush: 1

Goop on the Girl: 3

5. Quote/section of dialogue:

This category had one of the closest vote counts with the winner only having one more vote than the second place vote. But in the end, “It’s both an eve and a day; it’s a Christmas miracle” beat out everything else.

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 3

Santa in the Slush: 1

Goop on the Girl: 2

6. Moment that makes you laugh:

BONES is so funny, I think. That’s one of the things that really draws me to it. When they try to do a funny episode (Double Death), I don’t usually like it, but when they sort of diffuse the seriousness with a funny moment…I love that. I think a lot of us agree on that. “If this is fatal, I will shoot both of you”, “Nothing brings people together like a Christmas lung fungus” and “Be kind, rewind” move Man in the Fallout Shelter to the top in this category.

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 3

Santa in the Slush: 2

Goop on the Girl: 1

7. Moment that makes you cry/feel sad:

None of you voted for Santa in the Slush on this one, and I think that’s worth mentioning. 13 of you voted for Goop on the Girl, specifically the ‘heartcrushing scene’ and the funeral scene, and 12 of you mentioned Man in the Fallout Shelter, specifically Brennan opening her gifts. It’s hard to award points when it’s so close like that, but that’s what we’ve got to do!

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 2

Santa in the Slush: 1

Goop on the Girl: 3

8. Moment that makes you think and/or question your faith

Tricia said it best: “The scene that makes me think the most is the radio guy’s speech in Goop on the Girl. Totally thinky and definitely worth a second look. And a third. And a fourth. I think it’s beautifully written and performed.”

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 2

Santa in the Slush: 1

Goop on the Girl: 3

9. Incorporation of Holiday Elements (gifts, religion, Santa, mistletoe, eggnog, tree, etc)

15 of you chose Man in the Fallout Shelter, but I’m sorry to tell you that you’re wrong. Ha, well, maybe not wrong, but I am going to use my “Over-rule” on this one. I think that between Kris Kringle’s house, the mistletoe, the Christmas Tree, Sweets’ hat, and the Hodgins/Angela conversation about Christmas ornaments…Santa in the Slush wins this category. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 2

Santa in the Slush: 3

Goop on the Girl: 1

10.  Success at achieving goal of the theme of ‘family’:

I love what Mandy said about this, “For me, Goop – hands down. Brennan’s entire family is there (minus Russ of course)”. Hodgins tells Angela that there’s more than one kind of family in that scene, and that’s true, but I feel like this scene is sort of the embodiment of that phrase, and also Brennan’s ‘lynchpin-ness’ of the whole misfit group of them. Sweets DID say that he’s there for Agent Booth, but when it comes down to it, I think that means that he’s there for Booth, because it’s important for Booth to have something special with Brennan. Does that make sense?

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 2

Santa in the Slush: 1

Goop on the Girl: 3

11.  Use of setting (the lab, the diner, the jail, etc)

I don’t know why I don’t care for Proof in the Pudding as much as most people do, especially because I also love the way the team is confined to the lab here in Man in the Fallout Shelter. I think it’s probably because in this episode, the characters are so…real and true to themselves. They solve this case because of their smarts and incredible persistence and hard work. And they are literally quarantined to the lab in this case, which just totally wins. Fun fact: Santa in the Slush and Goop on the Girl both tied with an exact number of votes, so they each get 1.5 points.

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 3

Santa in the Slush: 1.5

Goop on the Girl: 1.5

12.  Gratuitous Gorgeous Booth Scene

Ah, well…are there really any losers in this group? It doesn’t seem fair to choose one over the other, does it? Booth=gorgeous. Plain and simple. In the end, the masses spoke, and your winner was this guy:

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 2

Santa in the Slush: 1

Goop on the Girl: 3

13.  Gratuitous Gorgeous Brennan Scene

Likewise, I think Brennan is just plain stunning, gorgeous, beautiful, awesome, and it’s unfair to pick just one. I think also there are so many aspects to her gorgeousness (When she learns something new, when she expresses affection, when she smiles, etc). Sure, Booth has aspects; he does. But with Brennan, sometimes the nuances make it hard to choose just one. But, the popular vote shows that this Brennan is the fave:

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 3

Santa in the Slush: 1

Goop on the Girl: 2

14.  B&B Moment:

This is also hard to choose, because I find it hard to sort of weigh B&B moments against other ones, if only because there are different levels of ‘history’ between them for each one, and each part of their journey sort of lends itself to its own reason for being loved. Right? The good news is that I have people like you to help me choose! And the majority of you chose a moment from Goop on the Girl.

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 1

Santa in the Slush: 2

Goop on the Girl: 3

15.  B&B Ending

I’m so happy that most of you chose MY fave B&B Christmas ending, so I didn’t have to tell you that you were wrong, haha. But honestly, I was a little worried, as I wasn’t sure if Santa in the Slush was my favorite because it was my first or if it really really is awesome. Thankfully, you all affirmed both me and its awesomeness by choosing the moment Booth shows up with the Christmas tree to the jail. “I love my gift, Booth.” “Merry Christmas, Bones.” Ah!

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 1

Santa in the Slush: 3

Goop on the Girl: 2

 

So…the results are in!

Man in the Fallout Shelter: 35 Points!

Goop on the Girl: 31.5 Points!

Santa in the Slush: 23.5 Points!

Though, I think compared to other BONES episodes, these three are in the top all time! Thanks to each person who voted! Hope you are having a great day!

Peace, Love & Bones,

~S

7 thoughts on “Best BONES Christmas Episode Ever? The Results Show!

  1. Hey Sarah!

    Thanks for tallying all those votes!

    So, my opinion was different it seems from the majority, since I didn’t pick “The Man in the Fallout Shelter” that much. But since the masses have spoken, I think I’m going to go rewatch that epiosde! Then I’ll re-evaluate all over again!

    Thanks!! 😀

  2. I am glad to see that Man In The Fallout Shelter won as it was my favorite. I just rewatched it yesterday and it was awesome.

  3. I couldn’t vote because I truly love all these episodes! All three are in my top 10 Bones episodes of all time. If I could acually pick 10, that is… Thanks for writing and tallying and posting the pretty pictures!

  4. Thank you for sharing! Love it

  5. Yay, I’m very happy with the results. 🙂 I just love all 3 episodes, but The Man in the Fallout Shelter does edge out the other two for me. I actually do feel a little bad for Santa in the Slush in that there was a bigger gap than I anticipated between it and the other two…surprising to me actually.

    I do have to say that the Bones cast and crew do great Christmas episodes, not all shows are successful with that.

    Thank you for doing this and summarizing the results so succinctly. 🙂

  6. Thanks for tallying up the score! I think the real winner is the viewers with these amazing Christmas eps (how corny is that?! but true…).

  7. Really interesting to see what the results were. I can totally see why Man in the Fallout Shelter won, though each episode had some wonderful moments.

    That was really fun to read!

Leave a Reply

