Bones Theory

The Turning Points that Weren’t

21 Comments

{Edit from Seels: Let’s give a nice big shout out to Rynogeny for this awesome Turning Points Series! I’ve loved every minute of it, but I have to be honest and say that this final post…the ‘turning points that weren’t’ was the one I looked forward to the most. I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about it! Enough from me…let’s hear from Ryn!}

Good morning!

In my first turning points post, I mentioned how I came up with the idea for this series: I was bored while traveling and started asking myself what the major turning points of the story were.  Very quickly, I realized that there were way more than five and began dividing them into categories. And obviously, there are more than I’ve sketched out in these posts, such as turning points for Hodgins and Angela.

But the more I thought about it, the more I realized there were important moments, significant moments, that aren’t turning points at all, at least not as I’ve defined them because nothing really seems to change afterward, and/or nothing new is revealed.

(By the way, I make a lot of confessions in this post…don’t hold them against me, okay?)

1) The Blonde in the Game

First confession: I have no idea what to do with that blasted line. (Oops. Did I just say that?) I know everyone thinks it’s important, and a lot of people think it was the major thing that kept Booth and Brennan apart for years, and I just don’t.  I can’t see it, and I was prepared to say so in this post, and then Seels did her really awesome Scene Study from The Secret in the Soil and confused and confounded me.

So the best I can do is tell you why it still doesn’t feel like a turning point to me, as well as why it might be, after all, and then see what you all have to say. Fair?

First up, then, for why it’s not a turning point: I’ve been defining such moments as either an obvious place where something changes, or a point when something important is revealed, and neither of those things happen here. 

 Well, it is the end of Booth and Cam’s ‘extra’ relationship, so that’s a change, but in the big picture sense? If anything’s different between Booth and Brennan afterward, I need for you to point it out to me.  And the only thing that I feel is revealed is that Booth could easily be destroyed by guilt, and that’s not exactly new news, if you get me.

In The Secret of the Soil, Brennan says the line doesn’t even need to be there, but the truth is, the line doesn’t even make any sense.  Booth says, “what happened to Cam happened because . . . we had a personal relationship.” Um, really, Booth? Maybe if he and Cam hadn’t known one another very long, were nothing but new lovers and/or were both obviously in love, I’d buy that. I’d buy that only that aspect of the relationship – the fact that it was sexual/romantic – was what caused Cam to sacrifice her professional judgment, skip routine investigative steps, and nearly die as a result.

But we’ve seen absolutely nothing to indicate that either one of them was ‘in love’ with the other, or thought the other was. And in my opinion, this is confirmed by the conversation they have in The Glowing Bones in the Old Stone House.  Although he never quite completes the question, he’s clearly asking if she ever wondered or wished they might have been more, and she tells him no, that while their relationship had completely satisfied her, she’d been glad for her own place…and had known him well enough to know he felt the same.

They do love one another, deeply, as friends. We find out later she’s known him for many years, knows him well enough to know Jared, and their history. He knows her family. But their relationship isn’t deeper or more emotionally involved because they’re having sex.

Do you see where I’m going here? In a relationship based on deep friendship and long history, but where the sexual component doesn’t mean all that much to them, it wasn’t that aspect of the relationship that caused Cam to abandon procedures in light of Booth’s panic over Parker.  Cam’s known Parker all his life, and while I can imagine her maintaining her composure and doing things by the book, no matter how worried she was about him, I can also imagine Booth being able to pressure her to skip steps, regardless of how ‘personal’ their relationship was right then.  I can imagine the same scenario now, as a matter of fact.

And ditto Brennan, actually. As close as they are, as emotionally intimate as they’ve become, would the presence or absence of that kind of relationship really prevent her from making the same kind of mistake Cam made? Her ability to compartmentalize might, but I don’t think the relationship itself would.

As I understand it, in real life the FBI doesn’t forbid intimate relationships between co-workers for just that reason: it’s too hard to draw a line between a deep platonic relationship and a romantic one.  Either one can lead to errors in judgment, and it’s impossible to prevent bonds from forming between people who work closely together.

Next on my list of, um, questions about the line is what it meant to Brennan. From Booth’s perspective, he was nearly responsible for the death of a friend because he was able to pressure her to do something she knew to be unwise, and he believes it’s because they were having a ‘personal’ relationship, i.e., having sex.  As I said in my last post, I think he’s already struggling with his feelings for Brennan at this point, and so uses what’s happened with Cam to give himself another reason for why a different relationship with Brennan would be a bad idea.  But what does Brennan make of it?

She knows he’s talking about them. The question, I think, is how she answers the question ‘why?’ Has she thought of starting a relationship with him? (Or perhaps more properly, finishing what they’d started that night in the rain?) If so, does she hear his statement as an indication he won’t be interested? Or does she see it as an unnecessary warning, since they appear to have mutually decided not ‘to go there’?

She remembers it a year later, enough to dismiss it. Does that mean she would have done anything different, or believes they’d be somewhere different if he’d not drawn the line? I don’t think so. I think she honestly believes the line  was unnecessary, though her tone of voice in The Secret in the Soil somehow sounds like just the opposite, that the line was important. But why?  I don’t honestly know, and can’t quite convince myself – especially after her rejection in the 100th – that anything would have been different if he’d not drawn the line.

So does the only thing making it a turning point the fact that Brennan references it a year later? Do we see any evidence later, ever, that Booth still believes in that line?

2) The Santa in the Slush

When this aired we believed it was their first kiss.  And while it’s a joke engineered by our favorite puckish district attorney, it’s still treated as a big moment by the writers. There’s a lot of buildup to it: Booth tells Brennan that Caroline will want something in return; meanwhile, Max pours on the manipulation to make it harder for her to back out when faced with Caroline’s requirement.  Even the setup for the scene, as Brennan hangs the mistletoe, draws attention to the fact that ‘this is an important scene. Something big is coming.’

How big was it? Here’s another: I wasn’t watching the show back then. (Nothing against Bones. Although I was paying for satellite every month, I simply wasn’t watching much TV. Clearly, it was my loss.)  But I was on some writing email lists, and knew the gist of the show, or thought I did. (Complete opposite crime solvers with a lot of UST.)  And I remember, even now, the wild excitement on one of those lists about that kiss. They didn’t go off-topic very often, but they did about Booth and Brennan kissing.  It was a big deal, indeed.

But does anything change afterward? No, I don’t think so. As aware of one another as they are before the kiss, it’s not as like they could become more so.

Maybe, maybe, you can make an argument for something being revealed: Booth’s anxious about the whole thing. He thinks it’s a bad idea and will try to talk Caroline out of it, and when it’s over, he stands there for a moment looking like he’s waiting for Caroline or Brennan, or someone, to judge him.                                                Anxious. Until last year, I assumed he was concerned because he was afraid ‘going there’ with her would be a bad idea. Now, of course, we know that he knew going there was a bad idea. Does that count as something that’s revealed? I don’t think so, because there are other places we see that.

So there it is – one of my favorite scenes, but it’s not a turning point.

3) The Wannabe in the Weeds

I have another confession: the last scene of this episode confuses me. I don’t think I’ve ever watched it and not replayed it at least once, and still felt like I wasn’t seeing what everyone else seemed to be.  Because what I see is that he accidentally steps into Pam’s line of fire, not so much ‘taking’ the bullet meant for Brennan as ‘catching’ it. This, despite that Booth and Brennan both act as if he leapt in front of her, making a deliberate sacrifice.

Anyway, a few days ago, some of us on Twitter got to discussing it and I realized I’m not alone in that at all, that others have seen – or not seen – the same thing I have.

Does it matter whether he did it deliberately or not? No, it really doesn’t, because every single one of us – and Brennan – knows he would have made a conscious decision to protect her, to step in front of a bullet for her.  We know.

We’ve seen him protect her with his body when he thinks a bomb is going to go off, and we know he’s the kind of guy who’d give himself to save someone else. So whether it was deliberate or not doesn’t matter.

The thing is, if someone was shot for me, whether it was accidental or on-purpose, it would matter to me. It would be a pivotal moment in my life. And apart from the whole not-really-dead fiasco at the beginning of The Pain in the Heart, these two pretty much go on the same as they were. Nothing changes, and since we all already knew he’d die for her, nothing’s really revealed.

4) Mayhem on a Cross

This wins the prize for having been a candidate for every single turning points list at one time or another, and it took me a while to figure out why it was giving me such a headache: the same scene has a moment which is clearly a turning point, a moment which is a turning point in that it reveals something we didn’t know, and finally, a moment that feels like a turning point but simply isn’t.

Taking them in order, first we have Booth and Brennan’s decision to adopt Sweets (though it sort of also wraps the scene with his acceptance of their offer as he follows them out the door.)  Their conscious, deliberate decision to include him shifts the show to a different dynamic. I also think it’s an example of both of them showing heart, as Seels was talking about lately. I love the look on Brennan’s face when she says, ‘we can find room for him.’ And while Booth offers a token resistance, he’s the one who leads her out of the kitchen. Quack, quack.

Next up is the reveal, which was on Booth’s turning points for a while.  Although we learn something about Brennan, too, it’s not really substantially new because we’ve understood all along she didn’t have the best foster care experience.  But Booth, while we’ve known since the beginning that he has a dark past that includes gambling and guilt, and then later found out about his abusive childhood, it’s only here that we finally discover just how bad that childhood was.  I love that he makes it clear that he’s revealing it to and for Brennan, and equally love that Sweets has never asked him about it.  Sweets, who bravely strides into the middle of any manner of personal topic, respects the line Booth drew that night, and I love him for it.

And finally, the part that feels like a turning point and isn’t: They’ve opened themselves up to one another, for one another, but what started as Brennan’s attempt to let Sweets know he’s not alone (and don’t you just love her for that? Booth does…) turns into an intensely personal moment between Booth and Brennan.  He’s concerned and worried about her reaction to telling the foster story, and she, like the rest of us, is perhaps thinking about how close the world came to losing Seeley Joseph Booth. He offers her his handkerchief, she tucks it back…

…and somewhere in that, Sweets sees something he think explains what Gordon Gordon had told him: that one of them struggles daily with the sexual attraction between them.

The reason this feels like a turning point is that it’s an important moment between them, not just because of what they’ve exchanged, but the looks they share, and what Sweets makes of it.  And still – nearly two years later – it’s a hot topic among fans. But it’s not really a turning because nothing changes, and there’s not even any consensus as to what, exactly, Sweets saw.

Seels thinks it’s Brennan who struggles daily with the attraction between them, which confuses me mightily because while I’m willing to believe that it’s Brennan, if it’s only one of them, how can it not be Booth? {Edit from Seels again! One of these days, I’ll put down my thoughts on this once and for all, I promise! 🙂 }

So much either depends on semantics or things we don’t know: what does ‘struggle’ mean here?  If it’s Brennan, does that mean Booth doesn’t struggle with it at all, but simply accepts it?  Does the fact that Sweets thinks he knows to what Gordon Gordon was referring mean he’s correct? Does the fact that he seemed to believe Booth’s feelings in Harbingers were a result of the coma mean Sweets really does think the one who’s struggling is Brennan? If so, did that factor into his encouraging Booth to take the gamble in The Parts in the Sum of the Whole?

All good questions without answers, and a fandom that’s pretty evenly divided from what I can see about what it was Sweets saw and how he interpreted it. But it’s not a turning point.

5) Harbingers in the Fountain

 

Speaking of Harbingers…you’d think when two people say “I love you” to one another for the first time that it’s a turning point, wouldn’t you?  I mean, doesn’t it feel like it should be? But nothing changes afterward. They go with Caroline, finish the case and life goes on.  Differently, sure, but those changes aren’t tied specifically to his fumbled attempt (in my opinion) to tell her he loves her.

Not only does nothing change, nothing new is really revealed. We’ve known they love one another as friends (in an ‘atta girl/atta-boy’ kind of way) for a long time, and I think they’ve probably both known it, too (Brennan’s “I don’t love Booth” from The Hero in the Hold notwithstanding.) You don’t trust the way they do without getting that the other person loves you.

That it neither changes things nor reveals anything new doesn’t mean it’s not important because something happened there: Booth made a decision to tell her he loved her. What we don’t know is what he meant by that.  Like what Sweets sees at the end of Mayhem on a Cross, I’ve seen two positions argued for it. The first is that he’d decided to tell her he loved her (as in was in love with her), and then backed out, either because something in her expression told him the declaration wouldn’t be welcome and he didn’t want to risk their friendship, or because what Cam and Sweets had said caused him to doubt himself. 

 The second argument I’ve heard is that what Sweets said actually caused him to change his mind, to believe he wasn’t really in love with her, and he thought they should clear the air about it in light of the coma dream.

I think the first is correct, but I’ve heard some pretty compelling arguments for the latter one. But if that’s the case, he clearly changes his mind again before The Dwarf in the Dirt, since he accepts Gordon Gordon’s assessment of his feelings.

I’ll also add that not only do I think the first scenario explains what happened – that he let what others had said cause him to doubt – I think it bothered him, that he registered it as a failure. Enough that he didn’t use the words, “I love you” in the conversation in The Parts in the Sum of the Whole.  I think his intentions and meaning were clear from his referencing ‘couples who are in love’ but he didn’t say the words and I think it’s because he felt like he’d screwed it up so badly here by chickening out.

So, what do you think? Are there things I had on other lists that you don’t think were turning points and should have been here? Things I missed completely? Do you think these moments should have been on a list?

21 thoughts on “The Turning Points that Weren’t

  1. Your list of non-turning points is very interesting. I have a different take on these points. Brennan is a scientist who formulates theories of evidence from empirical data. (Empiricial = information gained by means of observation, experience, or experiment ). In dealing with Booth, she has compiled a list of the things that he believes about human relationships. Brennan has poor interpersonal relationship skills; but, considers Booth to be an expert or at least someone she can trust when it comes to social interaction. Over the years, she has built up her knowledge of social interaction on the sayings of Booth, on the many conversations they have had about friends and family. One by one, they may not be a turning point; but, accumulated, they give Brennan the knowledge she needs to change the patterns in her life. Booth has drawn “the line” in the many talks he has had with Brennan. He has told her many times, with many personal examples, that close relationships at work are dangerous or could destroy their partnership. These accumulated non-turning points combined to turn into a major turning point for Brennan in the 100th episode. She took everything he said in the past and used that data to say no to Booth.

  2. Rynogeny, good morning to you too!

    Thank you for your post, I don’t have much time to go into it all the way, but like to mention a couple of thinks I have observed.
    First in Mayhem at the cross, the scene with the handkerchief, I see both struggling with their attraction. When Bones puts his handkerchief back into his pocket (which is right by his heart on the left side) she puts her hand above it and Booth tried to put his hand on hers, but she quickly pulls hers away . I think this is what Sweets saw, she touched his heart and he wanted to hold on to this.
    This should have been a turning point and maybe it was.
    With the “I love you” thing, I think Booth did mean it, but somehow got confused about what sweets told him, that his feelings are only a chemical reaction from his Coma and it will fade away. But I think Booth has doubts to really believe it, but at the same time was afraid to take the risk and made the “atta girl” remark. I did not see anything in Bones face to make him retreat. Only she reacted not right away and after his remark I think she was confused.
    If Booth would believe Sweets, then he should also in Bones when it comes to “Love”, that it is only a chemical reaction in the brain. But Booth uses his heart and even Godon Gordon told him, that you can’t control what your heart tells you.

  3. Thank you so much, rynogeny, for doing this series. I have immensely enjoyed it and have waited with eager anticipation for each new list. In fact, I’m a little bit bummed now that it’s all over. 🙂

    On to the list. I don’t disagree with any of your moments, but I agree the most with #1 and #5. It’s probably no great surprise that I don’t see “the line” speech as a major turning point. I’ve never really understood why people think it’s such a big deal given the circumstances and Brennan’s personality (ducks to avoid the flying tomatoes). I think she’s rational enough that she would have totally understood the logic in what Booth was saying (in fact, we saw her make a similar argument to Angela in The Girl with the Curl).

    I see “the line” and the FBI “policy” as devices the writers had to use to keep them apart. That Brennan used it (the FBI rule) in the 100th episode, in my opinion, isn’t proof that she was at all hurt or confused by anything Booth had said about it in the past. I think it’s much more likely that SHE was using the FBI policy as a shield to avoid having to reject him outright (only it didn’t work and she had to reject him anyway). I’m not saying this is what happened, I just think it’s a possible, alternative, explanation.

    Quick note about Mayhem: I’m just as confused about why it would be Brennan who struggled more as you are and am rather impatiently waiting for Sarah’s promised blog post explaining it all… 🙂

    On to Harbingers. I’ve always believed that Booth intended to tell Brennan he loved her, that what Avalon said about letting the doctors have his brain kind of tipped the scales for him, until the incident with the clown caused him to doubt his feelings again, therefore tipping the scales back in the other direction (could anybody actually follow that?). For lack of a better term, he wussed out. GG’s observation that Booth loved Brennan in The Dwarf in the Dirt was so important, I think, because it finally confirmed for him that his feelings for her were real. So yeah, if he had stood his ground and not qualified his statement, that “I love you” would have certainly been a turning point. But he didn’t and so I agree that it wasn’t.

  4. I think there are lots of places in the show that could have been turning points. But as it always seems to happen, nothing changes after these ‘could-have-beens’. Thus they are not really turning points but small moments on the path that is BONES.
    I’ve enjoyed your turning points. They’ve been enjoyable to read and they’ve certainly given me a lot to think about!

  5. Regarding Item #4 – I’ve begun to wonder recently if Sweets is actually referring to ‘which of them struggles daily’…or something else him and GG discussed. GG also said to Sweets that B/B are not actually opposites at all (which shocked Sweets)…so I wonder if that moment after B/B’s confessions finally proved to Sweets just how alike B/B actually are. Anyways, that’s what I tell myself so that the question of ‘who struggles daily’ doesn’t drive me batty!

    I’ve really enjoyed the set of posts you put together – thank you!

    • I went crazy over this – like everyone else did – until I saw it again on DVD. For me, it just clicked that Sweets was probably referring to how alike B&B are. But as with so many of these ambiguous scenes, we all just jumped on the ‘couplesy’ option because it’s what we want. That’s not discounting the attraction. It’s just that Sweets’ nod, smile and then reference to ‘you two’ suggests to me that Sweets notices something about both of them, not just one. ie their alikeness because of their upbringing.

    • That makes so much sense! It is very clear in that scene how alike they really are. And that is the observation that’s relevant to the change in the book title (to remove the bit about them being opposites), although interestingly he’s already made the change before that scene.

    • Thank you for your comment (and those who said the same thing!) – I’m normally pretty good at trying to see alternatives, but I’d never considered that Sweets might be talking about something completely different than which one struggles daily. And really, I think given that both of them have always been aware of the other (Brennan may not have struggled with her feelings until this season, really, but she’s been aware of the attraction between them since day one) the point GG was making about them being alike is really the more important thing for him to have pointed Sweets toward.

      It does still raise the question of what GG had in mind about the one who struggles daily. I’d still vote for Booth on that.

  6. I am SO with you on Wannabe in the Weeds. It’s something that has bothered me since I first saw the episode. No matter how much you know someone loves you and no matter how many times you’ve got each others’ backs, someone stepping in front of a bullet for you (inadvertently or not) HAS to change things. It absolutely kills me that in Pain in the Heart Booth brings it up and Brennan says something to the effect of big whoop. I mean, are you kidding me?

    Plus, I don’t buy that anyone could convince Brennan Booth was dead. She’d want the cold, hard facts–as in she’d want to feel his cold, dead body before she took anyone’s word for it. Sorry, writers, but I’ll be harboring resentment on that one until you tell me some sort of big, beefy security guard knocked Brennan over the head, dragged her unconscious body away from Booth’s side, and then told her they’d cremated him and hid the ashes from her so she couldn’t test for his DNA.

    Sorry to get so off-topic…this particular event is one of my “Bones” issues.

    • Good point, I’d never thought of that before, but Brennan definitely wouldn’t take anything other then his dead body as proof that Booth was actually dead. She doesn’t really trust the FBI anyways. You would think that she wouldve been by his side every second, from ambulance to hospital and then even tried to get into the operating theatre at the hospital.

      But maybe it was the fact that Booth hadn’t told her that he was alive that made her believe he was dead. Maybe she thought that if he wasn’t dead he would have said something, wouldve done anything he could to tell her that he was still there. Because I think there are only two ways in which Brennan will believe something; 1)she has the facts and 2)Booth told her.

      • I never thought it about that. Then again, I don’t know how privy Brennan is to Booth’s medical information. And in most cases when doctors tell you someone is dead, you don’t assume they’re staging it for national security reasons. The FBI had to make his death look convincing, so I guess it was.

    • I agree. It drives me crazy that the writers want us to believe that she wouldn’t be with him at all times, that she wouldn’t know the difference between a fatal wound and something you can recover from completly in a couple of weeks…

  7. Thanks for these posts, rynogeny, they’ve been really interesting!

    First of all, for #1 that episode is actually ‘The Man in the Cell’ not ‘The Blonde in the Game’ (sorry, I feel really mean correcting you : / ) but everyone knows the scene anyways so it doesnt make a difference : ). I agree with you that this isn’t a turningpoint, and i also didn’t pay much attention to it until Seels Secret in the Soil Post. One reason why this scene is important is because it gives Brennan evidence to present when asked why she and Booth aren’t together. Also, i think another reason is because (i believe, tell me if i’m wrong) that this is the first time that Booth “draws a line” in their relationship. In the 100th flashback, Brennan stopped the kiss, Brennan stopped them from going home together, Brennan broke up the partnership and then a year later agreed to put it back together again. Brennan has always had the control, called the shots, until now. That may be why this scene is so important.

    About Booth sort of just falling into the line of fire in #3, i always thought he sort stumbled too, but the fact that his natural instinct was to stumble so that he was inbetween Pam and Brennan was sweet.

    Finally I’d just like to say that isn’t odd that what SHOULD BE the biggest turning points in a tv series, don’t cut it in Bones e.g. first on screen kiss (as in how we see it, not in B&B’s past) and the declaration of love. Just shows how very complex and different this show is.

    • Isn’t this line interesting that you mention? “Brennan has always had the control, called the shots, until now.”
      There is no “calling the shots” in an authentic, loving relationship. Another puzzle piece in the “eventually”?

    • You make a couple of good points here (not the least that I confused those two eps! Sigh. I know all the eps by heart, but for some reason, nearly always get those two mixed up. I thought I checked it!)

      In particular, I like what you’re saying about it being important because it’s when he puts the brakes on. My reservation, I guess, is that it still doesn’t make the line itself make sense, and I’m surprised Brennan never caught that.

  8. These are all tough ones — I can’t see any of these that I would argue replace any of the turning points mentioned in the previous posts in this series.
    3. Wannabe in the Weeds – I didn’t see this as a turning point. I don’t think Booth intentionally took a bullet. If anything it led to a regression as the fake death should have caused Brennan to doubt her implicit trust even though Sweets was supposedly to blame. I still don’t get why the writers decided to do that in pain in the heart.
    4. Mayhem – I agree this isn’t a major turning point. They have had other personal moments like that though perhaps not in front of someone else. However, at that point, they may have forgotten that Sweets was in the room.
    5. Harbingers – My take on the declaration of I love you in Harbingers is that Booth was sending up a trial balloon to see how Brennan would react. I think he knew he was in love with her at that point and not just in an atta girl kind of way but qualifying it made it less risky. That coupled with everyone’s warnings beforehand made it the right way to go. Brennan was quick to respond in kind and as far as I remember that is the first time she said I love you to anyone; family or friends – feel free to point out if that isn’t right. It helped them along the path to a romantic relationship but I can see where it wasn’t a major turning point in the journey.

  9. I agree that 3) didn’t reveal anything new to B&B themselves, but it might have to the other characters. Everyone already knew that they felt more for each other than they let on, but they don’t see a lot of the interactions we do, so I’m not sure they realized just how deep that relationship was until they saw Booth take the bullet and Brennan’s reaction at the time/when she finds out he’s alive.

    And while it obviously wasn’t the huge turning point that most of us wish it would have been, I think there may have been a subtle change in B&B. I need to watch seasons 3 and 4 again to compare, but I think that Brennan went out of her way more often in season 4 to show Booth that she respects and appreciates him. That includes things like openly turning down her fellow anthropologist for Booth in the pilot, telling him what a good father he is, etc. I remember Sarah(Seels) in her 100 days blogs commenting on how they kept telling each other how special they were in season 4. Could this be motivated by her guilt for making him feel like his “death” hardly affected her (saying his funeral was a waste of time, and wtaking a bullet for her “once… only goes so far”)? I’m not sure about this yet but it seems possible.

    • Hmm. That’s an interesting observation about her going out of her way to show/tell him she respected him in S4. If it really does change between those two seasons, it would seem to have to do with his being shot/her thinking he was dead. I’ll re-watch those and think about it. Thanks!

  10. First of all, thanks so much for all your hard work in putting these lists together Ryn! I’ve really enjoyed reading your interpretations and everyone’s comments about them.

    I tend to agree with you on all of these “dummy” turning points. While they were all very significant moments for we as the viewers of the show, they didn’t really amount to anything by way of changing things amongst the characters. Herein lies part of the frustration with the writers, I think, in regards to consistency and continuity. Then again, I always just chalked them up to being what they seemingly are – missed opportunities by the characters to take a chance.

    To start, the ever-controversial “line” from Blonde in the Game has always been a heated point amongst the fandom. To address your question about Brennan’s reaction, I actually do think it affected her; maybe not in the way we would want, but I do think it made an impact. The way I interpret Brennan’s feelings about Booth in the early seasons is that she knows she’s attracted to him and that maybe something might happen between them, but for her the appeal is purely physical (or at least she interprets her own feelings as such). When Booth gives her the “line” (hahaha…pardon the pun), she seems regretful, like by him drawing that line he’s closing the door on the possibility of them pursuing each other physically. I’ve never thought about Brennan actually meaning what she said in Secret in the Soil RE: the line being unnecessary, because I always thought she took the line literally from the moment Booth put it in place.

    You know, I actually always brushed off the Santa in the Slush kiss as meaningless right from the get-go in season 3, mainly because they literally chose too ignore like it never happened, and in canon it remains unacknowledged as something significant, so I definitely agree with this one.

    I agree with you that Booth didn’t exactly launch himself in front of Brennan in order to protect her from Pam Nunan’s bullet. This storyline is one of those irritating ones that the writers just didn’t handle very well, and I think we give them a by on it because it happened the year of the strike. Oh, the fanfic sparked by this scenario alone! Anyway, I guess what I wanted to say is that I think this might have been a turning point if they had actually let us see the impact of Booth’s “death” on Brennan. If we could have been a fly on the wall for those two weeks, maybe we’d have a better understanding of whether that experience changed her attitude on her relationship with Booth and how close she let him into her heart.

    It’s no secret that the Mayhem on a Cross moment is probably my all-time favourite BONES moment thus far. I think I’ve expounded on it several times on this site, and so I found your interpretation of the scene very interesting. The one thing I wanted to say about that is that I’ve always felt that Sweets’ comment about understanding what GG meant was in reference not to who was more aware, but rather about how similar they really are (not opposites), and that that is what ultimately makes them compatible. By the way I was in the Booth camp on that issue, but now I’m on Team Brennan along with Seels. 😉

    Finally, Harbingers…you know, I really loved this episode. It gave me so much hope for Season 5, and then things fizzled a bit, but I digress. Booth’s “I love you” bungle was awful, and I never really thought about how that related to his speech in 100, so thanks for pointing that out! I’m also leaning more towards option 1 as being what really happened, where he let others make him doubt his feelings, and perhaps that coupled with his perceived reaction from Brennan made him add that awful qualifier. Two people who love each other as much as they do should have a better moment than this one to express their feelings, and I’m glad that hopefully the next time it will be done right – fingers crossed!

  11. Or maybe they were turning points, but the characters just didn’t turn where we wanted them to, 😉

  12. I agree on all counts….at least, i think i do!!! LOL

    You know i’m with you on the Wannabe in the Weeds scene…never understand the ‘he took a bullet for her’ stance. He would of, no question. But fact is he didn’t…and i’m big on facts (except…you know…when i ignore them for my own means 😉 )

    And the Harbringers scene…i still can’t figure that scene out and it drives me mad! Sometimes i think i see acceptance/joy on Brennans face as he begins, before the look fades when he adds his pathetic ‘atta girl’…and other times i think she panics. See….as per usual i can’t make up my mind!

    As for his reasons for chickening out…well, you know i don’t believe he’s in love with her (though he does love her) and i honestly think that he didn’t know whether he loved her or if it was a side affect of his coma dream.

    Same with Dwarf in the Dirt…and a large part of S5 for me. Booth wasn’t himself for a long time, and these signs people see of him loving her (his convos with Cam and GG) for me don’t gel…he was still messed up and didn’t know what he was thinking. Hard to hold the man to things he said when his brain was all over the place…he had almost died after all 😉

    Anyway….to cut a long story short, i totally agree with you…mostly 😀

Leave a Reply

