Bones Theory

State of the Blog Address and Other Such Items

29 Comments

Hello, hello, and Happy Monday!

A few years ago, there was a commercial with a father and two children, and the music in the background was the song, “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year,” which is normally a song reserved for Christmas holidays, here in the US at least. But this commercial was running at the end of summer, and it was for an office supply store, and the dad was tossing school supplies into a cart, basically doing bell kicks (which is when a person jumps in the air and lets their heels tap together–think people on Mary Poppins or probably any Charles Dickens movie adaptation) while the kids were totally dreading everything and looked like they were on their way to some sort of death, haha.

It was a funny commercial, one that was even more hilarious once I stopped teaching school! Ha. The point is that the same event can be terrible for some people (students) and The Most Wonderful Time of the Year for others — and I think hiatuses (hiatusii?) can be like that. They certainly ease the stress of my reviewing time, but then also, it’s sort of impossible to keep a blog like BT going at full (or even half, honestly) force with no new episodes/material to discuss, as we learned over the summer.

To that point, I’ve been thinking about what BT will look like for the first few months of 2012. I’m actually very exited for the second half of the season for a few reasons. That they technically COULD be spoilery is why I won’t tell you what they are, haha, but the point is that I do plan to discuss Bones a lot once that time comes around, and so it seemed(s) important to me to keep BT going in a way that is relevant and will still be relevant once April (or whenever) rolls around — minus the January 12th episode, of course. 

But there is just NO way I could come up with material for the time between now and then, nor do I, honestly–between us–, feel as much inspiration as I have in the past. That’s not the point of this post, so I’ll move on. Basically, I had to come up with some idea that would sort of keep the site afloat for months but also wasn’t me doing a ton of work I was starting to dread, right?

I used my brain a bit, and asked a few friends…

No, not them, but still, some smart people 🙂

Here is the plan…

Starting Thursday, we’ll begin with the Pilot episode and work our way through the series together. This will NOT ( I repeat NOT) be a series of episode reviews. This is not the 100DaysofBones Part Two (with discussions on Case, Squints, B&B, etc) or anything like that. There might be a couple of things in common–the eps will be ‘discussed’ in order without skipping ahead, and I may do some variation on The Booth of the Day, like the B&B of the Day or something like that. And really “discussed” isn’t even the right word.

Basically, each episode will serve as the starting off point for that day’s topic or discussion. For example, when we talk about Man in the Bear, I might discuss Booth’s penchant for jealousy…what his motives are, etc. And with Skull in the Desert, we might take a series-wide look at Angela and Brennan’s friendship (or, you know…what it WOULD look like for Booth to actually get federal on someone’s ass. Mmmmm. Haha) . So again, not episode reviews…more like the day’s topic will stem from something in the episode. It might be something that, upon re-watch, turned out to be more significant than we could have ever imagined. Or LESS significant, which, haha…is probably more what it will be!

I hope that makes sense. I did the math, and there are 135 episodes, and divided by 7, that equals about 19 weeks, which would take us in to April, so it should work. Or at the very least, it will give us what to discuss when the time comes where episodes start off. And if the episodes come back before we are done, we can just pick back up with this idea once they are complete and it’s summer time.

Basically, people should feel free to come and discuss on any given day but should also feel free to take a break if needed. It will keep the site spoiler free (important to me!), it will lessen the stress of coming up with new material (Yay!) and will allow me to write Scene Studies, Top Five Tuesdays, etc as I feel inspired (which I think will happen more if there’s less pressure),  and will also be a lot of fun, I think. Most of us didn’t know one another during the 100DaysofBones project, and I must say I’m excited to talk early eps with you!

Sound good? I hope so, haha, because that is what is happening 🙂

Quick note: I’ve penciled in the Friday, Saturday and Sunday after the Crack in the Code ep to be reserved for discussing that episode, and then on the Monday after it, we’ll resume whichever other episode will be next on our series list.

Just for fun, here’s your B&B of the Day:

The “Coffee’s a Good Place to Start” B&B

 From Widow’s Son in the Windshield: Season Three

Peace, Love & Bones,

~S

 

PS…I need a category name for this episode series. Examples of existing category names are MAQs, IAYAs, Top Five Tuesdays, Scene Studies, etc. So, feel free to toss ideas out in the comments. Winner will get credit, obviously, but nothing much else since nobody around here gets paid for anything! 🙂

29 thoughts on “State of the Blog Address and Other Such Items

  1. Bone Retros? Dunno, but I like your idea.

  2. This sounds like a wonderful idea. Work has been crazy crazy; but, it looks like it will be back to normal by New Years Day time. I’ll be looking forward to coming here and talking with everyone about my favorite show. Thanks.

  3. R&R’s? Rewind/Review. Oh, and thanks for the coffee.

  4. I love that you’re so adamant about continuing the blog. I definitely miss it when we don’t have a post to chew on.

    Category: Bones Spur….you know, because it spurs conversation.

    (I’m here all week…try the veal!)

  5. Sounds like an awesome idea. Definitely keep us entertained over the hiatus too.

  6. Episode Recaps or ER’s?

  7. Sounds like a great idea!

  8. I do like Bones Spur. What about Bones to Pick? Pickin’ Bones? Dem Bones? Sticks and Stones (you know the rhyme!). 🙂

  9. The freedom to take a look when I want, but take a break if I’m really busy one day…and be relieved of guilt because you said it was ok?! Getting to look back at the past of Bones together? To possibly see pov’s I’d never considered before? A place to sometimes stretch myself to think outside the box as well as a place to sometime just go gaga over a scene because it’s so yummy? A way to keep my love of Bones heightened during a break? Relaxing, hanging out & chatting about my favorite show…Sounds friggin awesome! Sounds like Bones Fun Times to me! BFT’s isn’t a *horrible* abbreviation!

    No matter what you choose to call it, thank you so much for going the extra mile for us. For your willingness to keep the blog going when it would be so very easy to just take a break. This break in new episodes comes at a time when we’re all so busy anyway. That we will have a place to hang out when we’re craving a little bit of Bones is really great. I appreciate this site, your organization of it, the folks who help you out…all of it. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

  10. BONES-

    Babbling
    Over (Bones)
    Nearly
    Every
    Second

    Soory, sorry. I’m soooooo tired with 3 days left before Christmas break. And it’s finals week. Sigh.

  11. Sounds good! Thanks for all your work! I can’t believe they are really – REALLY?!- going to break between January 12th until maybe April. I mean, yeah, we knew there was going to be a break but still…. Ugh. And, yes, until the return in April this will help. I too am excited to see how the season will wrap and I think we’ll have some new discussion points to mull over.

  12. I am very relieved you aren’t quitting! Sounds like a great and enjoyable plan. Thanks for all your hard work – I love reading your posts and everyone else’s contributions.

  13. It sounds like a great idea to relieve some of the pain of the horrible hiatus! Love your blog Sarah, and I will be here!

  14. This sounds like a lovely idea.

    How about Bones Hiatus Survival Episode Retrospective. No?

    Surviving
    Another
    Bones
    Hiatus
    Induced
    Melancholy

  15. Sounds great!

    I love this blog so much! A few other places lately have STILL been hating on Booth because of H. Basically saying that he messed everything up and Brennan shouldn’t have forgiven him. For what?? Trying to move on?? Sorry it just frustrates me to no end! I love that everyone here is level headed and thinks things through, they don’t just judge. Even if we don’t always agree, everyone is respectful and polite. Thanks for the awesome job you do!

  16. Sounds awesome. I’ll be around as much as I can. Even if I don’t have time to comment, I still read every day.

    I like Bones Rewind.

  17. No matter what you call it, I’ll wander over and comment! Thanks for doing this, Seels 🙂 Bones Spur and Bones Rewind are both great suggestions.

    (Happy Holidays everyone!)

  18. Thanks for contnuing your blog – I was so scared that it was going to stop (as other sites/fanfic writers have).

    I think this is a great idea and look forward to easing the pressure of checking in a bit, too.

    As for a name:
    – Bones Revolution
    – Circling the Centre
    – Vintage Bones
    – Bones Revisted

    Just some ideas 🙂

  19. I agree – Bones Rewind sounds great! 🙂 But whatever you decide is okay as long as BT continues. I like this place 🙂

  20. Thank you Sarah for continuing BT and this great new idea. This is the best place.

  21. Hm, I just realized I never actually commented on your actual post!

    -First of all, that “most wonderful time of the year” back-to-school commerical is like my dad’s favorite ever. I think they wrote that ad about him. I think its hilarious 🙂
    -Also, recaps/reviews are a great idea. I know that I rediscover all the awesomeness about Bones when I go back and visit shows that I haven’t for awhile. Like Booth knowing Bones’ favorite flower and planet? My first glimpse of shirtless TJ?? All good things that I should not let my brain forget about! haha

  22. Wonderful idea! I admit the statement about ‘discussing the future of BT’ struck me as potentially ominous, so this is great news – thanks so much, Sarah.

    I sure picked some year as my first season to watch Bones in ‘real time’, huh? It’s just full of delays and interruptions ain’t it… Yes, I know the reasons, but still, it’s irritating.

    I was already planning on some serious Bones rewatching to tide me over these long hiatuses (hiatii?) And it’ll be that much more fun to have BT to follow along the way. I have really become accustomed to coming here first thing every day and love reading all the insights, thoughts, humor, etc., so again, thanks much, and I’ll be here!

  23. Sarah, thank you for keeping this website up. I read it every morning. Don’t respond much, because before I get around to it, most everything is already said. Looking forward to “Back to the future with Bones”.

  24. No name ideas, but I just saw this essay. My modem fried and I have no internet access at the moment. Thank goodness for Starbucks. Expect to be back online at home on Friday. Will try to think of names in the meantime.

    I’m just glad we will have this place to come to to talk Bones. That’s the most important thing. Whatever you need to make that happen, Sarah, just let us know.

    • hello! how are you? Merry christmas 🙂 Say hello to sarajade for me – now that the Boneyard ‘is being fixed’ I don’t get to see her anymore.

  25. I love this idea! I was wondering if Bones Theory would stay active during the hiatus or what would really be discussed during it and I think this is a really good idea. Also, I must say I am very relieved because when you mentioned in the post before this that you would be telling us about the future of BT I was super afraid that you were going to say that you were putting it on hiatus too or ending it altogether and I don’t know what I would have done if that had been the case. This is the best Bones blog around and it’s what keeps me remembering the magic of the show during the hiatuses and moments that I might not be completely thrilled with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

