Bones Theory

Vintage Bones: Death in the Saddle

12 Comments

Giddy-up, Bones Theory people!

For better or worse, I think the earlier seasons of Bones were more saturated with Brennan and Booth UST. Obviously since the sexual tension has actually BEEN resolved, there isn’t as much of it, but I also believe that during those early years, they weren’t always sure they were going to be renewed and they had to sort of push B&B closer together in ways that would make sense if they had to end the series soon.

Anyway, this episode is an example of that. For me, it’s fun to see Booth and Brennan bicker a little bit. And of course, Booth’s ‘making love’ speech that launched (at least) a thousand fanfics.  But enough from me…what do you like (or not like) about this episode?

 

Your moment of B&B.

saddle

 

12 thoughts on “Vintage Bones: Death in the Saddle

  1. Oh, how I love the early seasons. All that delicious tension. All those little touches and stolen glances, fraught with hidden meaning and filled with words unspoken. So much potential and possibility. Guh.

    Don’t mind me. I’ll just be over here, melting into a big pile of goo.

  2. I know the tension was wonderful… but I also like how they were allowed to grow as characters, sometimes forwards (sometimes it seems backwards). I’m glad that they finally got to be together, because in the end life isn’t about the tension- it’s about finding love and actually getting to enjoy it.

  3. How about the last scene with B&B at the Diner and Booth’s “crappy” sex talk…”Making love … that’s when two people become one”. And the look on Brennan’s face…priceless. One of the best scenes ever.

    • BOOTH: Here we are. All of us are basically alone, separate creatures just circling each other. All searching for that slightest hint of a real connection. Some look in the wrong places…some, they just give up hope because in their mind they’re thinking ‘Oh, there’s nobody out there for me.’ But all of us, we keep trying over, and over again. Why? Because every once in a while, every once in a while, two people meet. And there’s that spark. And yes Bones, he’s handsome. And she’s beautiful. And maybe that’s all they see at first…But making love? Making. Love. That’s when two people become one.

      BRENNAN: It is… scientifically impossible for two objects to occupy the same space.
      BOOTH: Yeah, but what’s important is we try. And when we do it right, we get close.
      BRENNAN: To what? Breaking the laws of physics?
      BOOTH: Yeah, Bones. A miracle. Those people- role-playing and their fetishes and their little sex games- It’s crappy sex. Well, at least compared to the real thing.
      BRENNAN: You’re right.
      BOOTH:Yeah, but- Wait a second, I just won that argument?
      BRENNAN:Yup.

      🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. I love the early seasons too, their many special connections. This end scene was one of their best.

  5. Fun with transcripts! 🙂 lol

    BRENNAN: Berimbau is a little flute. Brazilian.
    BRENNAN: What?
    BOOTH: A little flute?
    HODGINS: Suddenly filled with a sense of… well-being.

    BOOTH: Hey.
    BRENNAN: Hay is for horses!
    BOOTH: Heeey, that’s funny, Bones!
    BRENNAN: I found it on this website about horses.
    BOOTH: Yeah?
    BRENNAN: Where do horses stay in a hotel?
    BOOTH: Bridle suite.
    BRENNAN: …That’s correct.

    BRENNAN: Aristotle extolled the joys of being ridden like a horse.
    BOOTH: Aristotle also thought that the purpose of the human heart was to solve math problems.
    BRENNAN: I’m surprised you know that.
    BOOTH: Well, turns out I’m smarter than a fifth grader.

    BOOTH: When you turn someone into an object of sexual pleasure, it’s wrong.
    BRENNAN: How do you know?
    BOOTH: It says in the Bible.
    BRENNAN: It does not!
    BOOTH: Then it got left out by mistake.

    BOOTH: Right. So what, back to the Ambassadora?
    BRENNAN: Giddyup.
    BOOTH: Yeah, uh, don’t…don’t say that.

    HODGINS: (to Angela) This is me, walking away with my melons so you can relax. I love you, Psycho.

    BRENNAN: Woah! You are strong!
    BOOTH: Well, you know, I try to stay in shape.

    BOOTH: ‘Stop or I’ll kick you in the testicles?’
    BRENNAN:(Shrugs) Worked.
    BOOTH: Tell you what, you and me? We’re gonna work on the cop talk.

    TOM: What’d you hit me with?
    BRENNAN: A building.

  6. What amazes me the most about the ‘making love’ speech is that, at least in writing, it has the potential to make for a pretty awkward scene. In fact, I’m not sure two other people would have been able to pull it off as perfectly as DB and ED. They both completely sell it; the moment actually seems so intimate that sometimes I have a hard time watching it, like I’m an intruder.

    I also love it because it’s one of those times when you see how much faith Brennan already has in Booth-one look at her face and you know she’s almost willing herself to believe in this alien concept of love that he’s presenting, it sounds so appealing. As for Booth, he just wants Brennan to have great things in her life. He doesn’t want her to settle for ‘crappy sex’ when she could be sharing her life with someone who values not only her body but her soul. Such a perfect little scene…

    • Definitely agree with you both, MJ and Mariu!! MJ, I miss it too. And Mariu, as I posted and reread it, I realized that it could sound completely ridiculous, but DB has the amazing ability to make those almost-cheesy lines work. He makes you believe it, and Brennan too. I love how she admitted he was right, and he was surprised! And now…now they get to live it in their marriage!!! SQUEE! How lucky are we as a fanbase? 🙂

      • I would say we are very lucky fanbase. This scene has always been one of my favorites the way DB and ED play the scene is so amazing and your right if any other actor had said those lines it probably would come off as chessy but not when DB is the one that’s saying them.

  7. One of my favorite early B&B endings! “Melting into a big pile of goo” about explains it.

  8. I really like a lot of things about this episode. It’s very funny……when B&B are outside watching the participants and Brennan says she has done some role playing and Booth says it is getting warm outside I laugh out loud every time…it’s not the weather making his temperature rise! 🙂 I also like the part where they go see the butcher….slams him into a wall, and Brennan comments on how strong Booth is and he puffs up a little with pride and says he works out…..learning cop talk is funny, too.

    The end could have been so sappy but they really sell it and make it a memorable scene. I enjoy it very much and have watched it many times. Overall, a favorite.

Leave a Reply

