Bones Theory

Vintage Bones: The Perfect Pieces in the Purple Pond

6 Comments

Hello, Happy Friday around the world!

I like this episode.  At the time, it answered some questions (though it also created some new as yet unresolved ones) . It also introduced Wendell I believe, and he has turned out to be my favorite intern.

The case was interesting (and gross, if I recall).

And the end scene is one of my all time favorite end scenes.  Nowadays, it’s not as big of a deal if Brennan were to wrap her arms around Booth, but back then it was!

And I always wondered if Booth really had tickets to a game or if he just wanted an excuse to come see her. I can see it going both ways.

 

Hope you have a great weekend. In the meantime, here is your moment of B&B. Quid Pro Quo! It’s so cute when Booth says he knows what that means, too 🙂

 

pond 52

 

 

PS, there is a scene study of the end, if you’re so inclined to check it out! 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Vintage Bones: The Perfect Pieces in the Purple Pond

  1. Great scene study link – I recall reading that a few weeks ago but it’s just as good second time around!

    Re the tickets, I would think him having tickets was his excuse.

  2. “That’s like me saying I don’t want to be a sexy FBI agent.” Booth rationalizes.

    “We can’t change who we are,” he argues. 🙂 🙂

    Lol 🙂 thanks for the scene study link!!!

  3. The theme of Booth’s bad back was an endearing one in the way he co-opted Brennan into fixing it. It was another tiny theme that the writers actually remembered to use all the way through The Blackout in the Blizzard. It was always so unbelievable to me that between his back, his brain tumor and his age, none of this disqualified him from a frontline assignment in Afghanistan.

  4. Great episode. Loved having Zach back. His storyline and absence will always be sad and a great loss to the series for me. Loved the look on Booth’s face when Brennan goes to fix his back and how he jabbers on. He knows.

  5. I found the scene saving the book from the trash more significant than the back scene at the end. Granted, I see different themes ascribed to each — the book saving represents knowledge (Booth’s knowledge of Brennan), and the back-fixing represents trust (Brennan knowing that Booth trusts her). The former is more of a “saving her” moment (little does he realize he will ultimately benefit from this action years later), while the latter was another in the long slow crawl of the B&B dynamic.

  6. I just watched this episode last night, and to me the “We’re Partners!” stuff is a cover for Booth because there are several little examples of his infatuation with Brennan all throughout…telling Sweets not to “be mean” to her, and when Zach points out all the sets of 12 and they say together “I should have seen that” Booth is embarrassed. I think in some way he wants to believe this is all partner stuff be we all know better.

Leave a Reply

