Bones Theory

Vintage Bones: The Girl in the Mask

7 Comments

Hello Bones fans!

 

I like a lot of this episode, especially that we get to see another friend of Booth’s.  I thought it was also a nice episode where Booth and Brennan had some good conversations about friendships, family and relationships, and love.

I also liked the scenes where Brennan and Ken talked about Booth.

“You’re a lucky woman, Dr. Brennan.”

“…to work with Booth, yes.”

“To work with Booth…yes.” Haha, Ken is like ‘whatever you have to tell yourself, Dr. B.’  🙂

 

I had forgotten that this episode also begins with Brennan contemplating which of her interns she should keep around full time. Good times.

 

And here is your moment of B&B:

 

7 thoughts on “Vintage Bones: The Girl in the Mask

  1. I really liked this episode despite how horrific it was for the victim. Did not love Cam/Hodgins & Angela and their obsession about Dr. Tanaka’s gender. Grow up people.

    I liked Booth having a friend outside of the Lab. Loved Brennan’s discussion with Ken about how lucky she was…to work with Booth. Umm, okay.

    Booth can spoon feed me ice cream any day of the week thank you very much. 🙂

  2. Quote time!! 🙂

    Brennan: Wendell has the most potential and work ethic.
    Booth: Plus, you know, he’s somewhat normal.
    Brennan: Well, that’s what you like…Vincent is the most intelligent.
    Booth: Well, that’s what you like, so you should hire him…I mean, this person’s gonna be your right hand man.
    Brennan: Well, I’ve decided to take your opinion into account as I make this decision.
    Booth: Really?
    Brennan: I’m making an effort.

    Sweets: The mask could have been used by the killer to dehumanize the victim, allowing whoever decapitated her to distance himself from the ugly reality of her death.
    Tanaka: Hmm, you are entering the realm of psychology, a field of unverifiable speculation. Perhaps I can be of further help to Dr. Brennan.
    Sweets: Sometimes I hate hard science. I know that seems immature, but that’s just how I feel.

    Brennan: That’s a very big favor to do Detective Nakamura, coming all the way from Japan.
    Nakamura: I would do anything for him.
    Brennan: Since Booth took you out of the field, I thought perhaps you’d like to consolidate the results of our analysis to convey to Booth.
    Nakamura: You are trying to make me feel useful.
    Brennan: No, I I don’t really do things like that.
    Nakamura: I owe you for talking Booth out of sending me home.
    Brennan: Wasn’t me.
    Nakamura: Booth is a very empathetic man.
    Brennan: Yes.
    Nakamura: Are you aware how we met?
    Brennan: Some kind of exchange program?
    Nakamura: Aye.Most of the FBI agents showed up and started telling us how to handle our organized crime problem. Booth said nothing. Two, three days, just listening.
    Brennan: He was quiet? That does not sound like Booth.
    Nakamura: Then he asked a question. He asked, “How would you gentlemen handle our organized crime problem?” He was respectful.

    (I love when we get outside validation of Booth’s awesomeness. More evidence for Brennan!!)

    Nakamura: She felt like a woman. Wanted to be rid of big brother watching her all the time.
    Brennan: My parents left me and my brother when I was 15. My brother was the only family I had. But he left me too.
    Nakamura: I’m sorry.
    Brennan: I turned out quite well actually. But it would have been nice to have a brother like you. I myself have not one in my life whom I talk to that much, outside of work I mean. Perhaps that is good.
    Nakamura: How so?
    Dr. Temperance ‘Bones’ Brennan: I can see how much pain you’re in. Is it worth it? To have your own happiness so contingent on another human being…
    Nakamura: If I was willing to give up my life for Sachi… why would I not be willing to risk my happiness for her?

    (It took Brennan so long to fully grasp this and though she was willing to do risk her life for Booth she did not want to risk her heart. Glad she finally did!!)

    Brennan: You were kind of mean there, Booth.
    Booth: The man’s in big pain, Bones. Makes it hard for him to hear.
    Brennan: I’ve never heard of grief affecting auditory acuteness.
    Booth: Medical fact. Look it up.

    (I love these two.)

    Brennan: I’m not convinced that loving someone is worth it.
    Booth: I got a son, and it’s worth it.
    Brennan: Even if he died?
    Booth: Whoa. Bones, don’t even say anything like that. Don’t even put that out there.
    It is worth it and everything around it is worth it. Every moment, everything is worth it, so eat the ice cream before it melts.

    (Hmmm….a precursor to “let it melt”??? Now they don’t have to eat the ice cream, guys. Now they have other things to do!!! 🙂 )

    • “Every moment, everything is worth it, so eat the ice cream before it melts.

      (Hmmm….a precursor to “let it melt”??? Now they don’t have to eat the ice cream, guys. Now they have other things to do!!! 🙂 )”

      I didn’t even make that connection before. Great pick-up!

    • bb, thanks for the lines you posted, expecially:
      Dr. Temperance ‘Bones’ Brennan: I can see how much pain you’re in. Is it worth it? To have your own happiness so
      contingent on another human being…
      Nakamura: If I was willing to give up my life for Sachi… why would I not be willing to risk my happiness for her?

      How often have we said “I’d give my right arm (or any body part)” for someone or something but I’ve never heard anyone say I’d give up my happiness for someone. Makes me stop and think–very touching.

  3. I liked this episode too and I thought Nak and Booth were great together. I’m sorry they haven’t brought him and Dr. Tanaka back. I would have liked to see Booth show some ‘anthropological understanding’ like speaking some words of Japanese or doing something that showed he had learned about the culture when in Japan. And yes, it was great to get some verification from a source outside the FBI/CIA/Lab that Booth is an outstanding agent and an empathetic human being.

  4. I love this episode. One of my favorite Brennan scenes is when she talks to Nak about whether it is worth it to have one’s happiness so contingent upon another human being and he tells her that if he was willing to give his life for his sister why wouldn’t he be willing to also risk his happiness for her? It is a perfect parallel to Brennan in Partners in the divorce when she tells Booth that Sweets told her that she was subconsciously rebelling against her happiness being contingent upon his happiness and Christine’s. Brennan found out later that it is worth it risking one’s happiness for love. This is part of those episodes in season 4 when they were Brennan was exploring the idea of love and of course we know it wasn’t just with anyone, but love with Booth.

Leave a Reply

