Bones Theory

Vintage Bones: Harbingers in a Fountain

7 Comments

Hello and Happy Tuesday!

 

This episode is an interesting one for me, but I do mostly enjoy it.

 

Here are a few things I really like.

 

1: Avalon

I like the character of Avalon Harmonia, and it is awesome that Cyndi Lauper plays her. She has some great moments, and when she tells Brennan that Booth knows the truth of her and is dazzled by that truth…well, that is a gift. Hart Hanson wrote this episode, and I usually like the way he portrays the characters, and I liked how he handled Avalon.

 

2. Hugs

I love when Brennan sort of dismisses everyone who wants to hug her at the lab but then throws her arms around Booth when she sees him again. It was a weird thing to have her be gone for the entire summer, especially because they didn’t really go into detail on it much. I am guessing they were going with the idea that she goes away if things get tough, but they’d also established that she took trips a lot of the time. And I also can see Booth shutting her out if he feels like he is less than his best, and at that point in their relationship, she would just take his word at face value and if he says she could leave, she would. Anyway… the hug 🙂

 

hug at the beginning of Harbingers

 

3. The ILYs

Sure, they quickly called it ‘a partner thing’, but I liked the moment when they said they loved one another. It was a tiny step forward and they at least put it out there.

 

4. “I’ve got you, baby”

It’s your moment of B&B

harbingers kissWhat do you think? What do you like or not like about this episode?

 

7 thoughts on “Vintage Bones: Harbingers in a Fountain

  1. I’m so behind on these but I have all of the emails saved and I Will Catch Up!!!

    I love this episode. Avalon and Booth in love (**** you, Sweets!) and Brennan flirting with him on the street corner and Booth racing to save Brennan and the “I’ve got you, baby,” and he’s still wearing that bloody shirt hours later! and everything. Everything. Love. Love.

  2. As great as this episode is, it was almost as big a tease as the End in in the Beginning, yet in a much less overt fashion. Booth visiting Brennan in the early AM at the dig to confess but chickening out. The ILY’s, yet pulled back. The baby moment. The knowledge that he is dazzled by her and their unwillingness to hear it, or even give Avalon any credence, etc.

  3. I loved this episode barring the scene with Sweets and his babble about brain scans. Something as a psychologist (not a medical doctor) he was not qualified to do. Cam’s blunt “you’re in love with Dr. Brennan” and her comment about him being sure before he said anything was much better. I know Sweets meant the same thing, but that was a terrible scene and in my opinion unnecessary.

    To me it was the clown on the street that threw Booth off from sticking with his “I love you” line. When Brennan pointed out that he hated clowns that made him doubt whether he was himself or some reaction of the tumor. If that damn clown hadn’t been there I don’t think he would have said “in an atta boy kind of way” .

    Booth and Brennan were adorable in this episode-all fun and flirty and then hero Booth making his kill shot, calling Brennan baby and kissing her on the head. So much goodness-only to have HH yank it all away from us in the 100th.

    I loved the Avalon character. Cindy Lauper was perfect. “Just so you know, this all works out in the end.” Words to live by. 🙂

  4. Alright. Quotin’ time. This episode, besides the awesome emotional goodies throughout, I mean, really so many things…There is a lot of humor. Hodgins is especially adorable and Caroline is Caroline. 🙂 A sample:

    Caroline: You were there. You killed the bad guy dead. I know you hate that, but it always makes me a little glad. Does that make me a bad person?

    Brennan: Well, they gave me medication. So I feel how I imagine people of average intelligence feel, all the time.

    Avalon: The man whose life you saved is really excited to see you again.
    Brennan: No, I don’t save lives. People are already dead when I get to them.

    Booth: I am back baby! Special Agent Seeley Joseph Booth.

    Hodgins: Oh, I’m happy personally and professionally. You know unsolved murders have gone up a thousand percent since you left.
    Brennan: I find that hard to believe.
    Hodgins: Rough estimate.

    Hodgins: And that ladies, *that* is why they call me “King of the Lab.”
    Angela: Nobody does that but you.

    Avalon: Let the neurosurgeons have your brain. They know about your brain. They don’t know Jack about your heart!

    Caroline: That was sneaky.
    Brennan: Is sneaky good or bad?
    Caroline: Good. If it holds up in the court.

  5. I love Avalon as played by CL and I love how Caroline loves Booth. And overall I love this episode but in the big picture how is it that Brennan can take off for an entire summer and the lab keeps on ticking but stretch that out for a few more months and everything falls apart? Convenient plot points, what? I also wish that there were more close friendship scenes between Booth and Cam. She’s his oldest and probably wisest friend and since Aldo isn’t likely to come back soon I wish they’d have some one-on-one time between the two of them. Brennan has Angela to play off of but Booth really has no one. Oh and I always fast forward through the Sweets scene. So stupid.

  6. I’m behind too, but love the emails as well.

  7. I have always thought that Booth made his doctors tell Brennan he was fine so she would leave and not see him in a weakened state. He didn’t want to be embarrassed by showing frailty to her, so he wanted her gone. That way he could recover without her fretting about him. There are a lot of men who would protect themselves that way but would say that they are protecting the woman they love to keep her from worrying about them. And since he was having a hard time getting over the fact that they weren’t really married, it may have been better for her to be gone….out of sight, out of mind.

    Sweets was a real idiot in this episode. He must know from all his observations that Booth is in love with Brennan…..no matter what the “brain scans” say. I suppose he was trying to protect Brennan but he he came across badly.

    I think, as mentioned above, the clown thing shook Booth up and made him unsure. Other than the Sweets fiasco, I love, love, love this episode. One of my very favorites.

Leave a Reply

